The House of Commons has overwhelmingly voted in favour of gay marriage, but how did Cornwall's MP's vote?

While MPs voted in favour of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill by 400 to 175, a majority of 225, not all of Cornwall's MP did, with two abstaining from the vote.

These were Sheryll Murray, Conservative (Southeast Cornwall) and George Eustice, Conservative (Camborne and Redruth). Andrew George, Dan Rogerson and Stephen Gilbert, all Liberal Democrat MP's voted yes, as did Sarah Newton, Conservative MP For Falmouth and Truro. 

A total of 136 Conservative MPs opposed the bill, over half the party's MP's.

David Cameron paid tribute to the decision calling it a move to create a fairer society.

He said: "Last night's vote will be seen not just as making sure there is a proper element of equality, but also helping us to build a stronger and fairer society.

"I thought many of the speeches made last night were very moving, very emotional and I would pay tribute to all those people who have actually made this case, some of them for very many years, saying they want their love to count the same way that a man and a woman's love for each other counts.

"That is what we have opened now in this country and that is why I'm proud it is this government that has brought it forward."