Cornwall Council:

With the status quo maintained in Helston and the Lizard for the majority of Cornwall Council seats, there was one notable shock.

In a spectacular fall from grace, Alec Robertson has gone from hero to zero, going from the leader of Cornwall Council to losing his seat in just over six months.

Conservative Mr Robertson polled 494 votes in Helston North but it was not enough to beat Independent Phil Martin, who took 590 votes to secure the seat - that was really only ever going to be a two horse race.

Mr Robertson was ousted as council leader by secret ballot in October, with 63 votes in favour of the motion to remove him and 49 votes against.

Councillor Bob Egerton, openness and transparency champion, proposed the leader’s removal following his decision to push ahead with the part-privatisation of council services against the wishes of the majority of council members.

No such surprises in the Helston South division however, where incumbent Judith Haycock won with a strong majority, polling 427 votes. Her closest rival, Liberal Democrat John Martin, was never going to catch her with 215 votes.

One of the largest majorities of the day was polled by Porthleven and Helston West candidate Andy Wallis, who eased back into his seat with a whopping 706 votes - 65 per cent of the total. Conservative Liz Lane came second with only 189 votes, so there was only ever going to be one winner.

A similar result could be found in Crowan and Wendron, where Loveday Jenkin retained her place on the council with 751 votes, a majority of more than 460.

Out on the Lizard Peninsula there was almost a shock when the Green Party came close to winning their first ever seat there through Dominic Brandreth polling 502 votes.

But it was not close enough to catch Conservative Walter Sanger, who retained the St Keverne and Meneage seat with 631 votes.

There was happy news for newly Independent Carolyn Rule as well. She resigned in protest from the Conservative Party in March but retained her Mullion seat regardless, taking 577 votes – 236 more than UKIP’s Nina Sutherland who came second.

Finally, with only two candidates for Breage, Germoe and Sithney, it was always going to be an interesting result. In the end Conservative John Keeling retained the seat with 562, ahead of UKIP’s Michael Mahon who polled 458.

Town and Parish Councils:


Two wards were contested at Helston Town Council. The West Ward was uncontested with Nicola Boase and Justine Hornsby elected.

In the North Ward Nicola Roberts (Ind) with 621 votes, John Boase (Ind) with 522 votes, Lloyd Harris with 500 votes, Jonathan Radford-Gaby (Con) with 468 votes and Mike Thomas (Lib Dem) with 401 votes have been elected.
Turnout - 36% 
Niall Devenish (339 votes) has lost his seat.

In the South Ward Ronnie Williams (Ind) with 460 votes, Gillian Geer (Ind) with 402 votes, John Martin (Lib Dem) with 398 votes, Martine Knight (Ind) with 367 votes and Mark Upton (Ind) with 333 votes have been elected.
Turnout - 27% 


Porthleven Town Council was uncontested. Mark Berryman, Susan Johns, Barbara Powell, Andrew Wallis (Ind), Danny Williams, Liz Lane and Brian Michael have been elected. Two seats remain to be filled.

St Keverne and Coverack:

St Keverne Parish Council was uncontested. Elected in Coverack Ward are Robert Beadle (Ind), Roger Combe, Bill Frisken (Ind) and Sarah Lyne.

In the St Keverne Ward are Michael Anselmi (Ind), Dominic Brandreth (Green), Tony Carey, Russell Hocking, Derek Kevern, David Lambrick (Ind), Alec Peters, Anthony Richards and Roger Richards.

St Martin:

St Martin-in-Meneage Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Johnny Alston, Andrew Bray, William Bryant, James Coupar, William (Brindley) Hosken, Philip Jenkin and Mike West.


Mawgan-in-Meneage Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Vivian Benney, Colin Chapman, John Hatton, Lindsay Hockley, Shaun Lock, Pearl Merton, Christopher Roberts, Kevin Roberts and Dot Spragg. One seat remains to be filled.


Manaccan Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Daniel Flunder, Raymond Knight, Peter Norton, Virginia Richardson, JC Skewes, Angela Wood and Lionel Wood.


Gweek Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Kevin Allon, Judith Brickhill, Diane Cash (Ind), Tristan Mackie (Ind), Paddy Sanders and Peter Williams. One seat remains to be filled.


Landewednack Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Jeremy Allerton, Barry Browning, Zena Browning, Velvyn Burt, Colin Hendy, Thora Hill and Anthony Muller. Three seats remain to be filled.


Mullion Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Dave German, Anthony Gilbert, Ian Harvey, Shirley Ireland, John Lang, Sue Ormond, Carolyn Rule, Peter Wilkins, Roger Willey and David Williams.


Cury Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Adrian Boaden, Reuben Curnow, Aidan Murray, Priscilla Oates and Robert Wright. Two seats remain to be filled.

Grade Ruan

Grade Ruan Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Michael Alford (Ind), Paul Collins, Carol Cooper, Michael Fleetwood, Peter Freeman (Ind), Nigel Green (Ind), Jeb Preston and John Trewin. Four seats remain to be filled.


Breage Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are Tony Ackland, Jan Anthony (Ind), Tony Best, Tanis Board, Howard Bradford (Ind), Simon Caddick (MK), Philippa Darby, Carole Rashleigh and Rose Wyvern. Three seats remain to be filled.


Sithney Parish Council was uncontested. Elected in the Lowertown Ward is Ian Paterson (Ind).

Elected in the Sithney Ward are Peter Bickford-Smit, Brian Deacon, Phil Martin (Ind), Michael Morgans (Ind), Ann Pascoe (Ind) and Elizabeth Williams. Two seats remain to be filled in this ward.


Wendron Parish Council was uncontested. Elected in the Trewennack Ward are Dinah Mitchell and Nick Van Den Berg.

Elected in the Wendron Ward are Peter Davidson, Sharon Hook, Ronald Mitchell, Sheila Moyle, Marie Nute and Marion Warren. Seven seats remain to be filled in this ward.