Visitors to East Pool Mine can explore what life was like underground at a free open day this Saturday.
On Saturday 14 September, East Pool Mine celebrates Heritage Open Day by inviting you to visit for free.
With two towering engine houses and the industrial remains of tin, copper, arsenic and tungsten mining, East Pool Mine now stands partially hidden in an urban landscape as a reminder of Cornwall’s days as a world-famous centre of industry, engineering and innovation.
Visitors will also have the opportunity to see a brand new exhibition called ‘Mongst East Pool Mines and Miners’.
This exhibition, which runs until 3 November, explores the miners and underground workings of East Pool Mine around 1895 in the stunning early underground photography of J. C. Burrows.
During the day East Pool Mine will also run a series of family activities, including fun hands-on science experiments and discovery trails.
Custodian Jo Warburton said: "Our new exhibition of underground photography is a fascinating insight into what the workings under the mine were like over 100 years ago.
"Royal Cornwall Museum in Truro has kindly provided us with these images so that our visitors can understand what’s under their feet. Heritage Open Day is a great chance for our visitors to see the exhibition and find out more about this important local mine hidden away behind Morrison’s Supermarket for free.”
For the first time on Heritage Open Day, Trevithick Cottage, in the nearby village of Penpods, will also be open to the public for free from 2-5pm.
This picturesque cottage was the home of inventor and engineering genius Richard Trevithick. For further information please contact East Pool Mine on 01209 210900 for details.