The shortlist for the 11th Cornwall Sustainability Awards has been announced.

Awards co-ordinator, Gitty Ankers MBE, from the Environment Agency, said: “The aim of Cornwall Sustainability Awards is to encourage, reward and gain recognition for some of the excellent work businesses in Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly are doing to improve their sustainability.

“We had many excellent applications this year and the initial shortlisting process gets harder every year and we’re happy we can hand over the hard work to the judges to select the overall winners.”

The judging team comprised of Andrew Williams, Cornwall and Isle of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership; Anthony Weight, awards’ co-founder and independent consultant; Caron Jackson, Eden Project; Dr Alana Knight, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Nature Partnership; Dr Michael Hunt, Cornwall College; Gitty Ankers MBE, Environment Agency; Mark Summers, Cornwall Public Health; and Matt Coleman, independent consultant.

The team was also joined by Joss Hawkins from 2012 Overall Winner PALL Newquay.

Awards co-ordinator, Veryan Jones from Cornwall Council, said: “Over the years there have been some intense debates between judges in every category.

“As a result of this analysis the judges appear to have got it right as all the winners have proven to be outstanding, and many have gone on to win national and international awards.

“The great thing about these awards is that the businesses in Cornwall, who all take a lot of effort to enter, are rightly proud at being short listed, or winning.”

For more information on the Awards contact Veryan Jones on 01872 224346, Gitty Ankers 01208 265060 or visit

Cornwall Sustainability Awards 2013 Shortlist
Best Small Business – Sponsored by Oxford Innovation
Camp Kernow
Spiezia Organics

Best Medium Business - Sponsored by IMERYS
Blacker Sheep Ltd
County Arms
Harts Haulage
South West Lakes Trust
Wild Futures

Best Large Business – Sponsored by Stralfors
Coastline Housing Ltd
Tulip Ltd Bodmin

Best Individual – Sponsored by Tamar Foods
County Arms - Stephanie Lorton
Kellys - Hayden Clark
Wild Food Foraging - Rachel Lambert
WREN Wadebridge Renewable Energy Network - Jerry Clark

Best Product - sponsored by National Industrial Symbiosis Programme (NISP)
Blacker Sheep Ltd
Spiezia Organics
Wattstor Ltd

Best Service – Sponsored by Business Cornwall
Camp Kernow
Celtic Renewable Energy Ltd
Ecodrive Ltd

Sustainable Construction - Retrofit – Sponsored by MIDAS
AmboStrachan Homes-Clearview
Coastline Housing-Treview Road
Lloyds Architecture-BT Exchange
Stride Treglown-Heartlands
The Old Barn

Sustainable Construction - New Build-Commercial – Sponsored by Lantoom Quarry
ALA Chartered Architects – SAPC
Bailey Partnership – Health and Wellbeing Building
Exeter University - ESI
HLM Architects – Brannel School
Stride Treglown - Heartlands
The Mission to Seafarers

Sustainable Construction - New Build-Domestic – Sponsored by Lantoom Quarry
Atelier 3 Ltd- Trebears
Atelier 3 Ltd-Polstreath Orchard
Charles Green Design-Sky Goth
The Emerald
Jarvis Architecture
Railholiday Ltd

Resource Management – Sponsored by South West Manufacturing Service (SWMAS)
Harts Haulage
HLM Architects-Brannel School
Tulip Foods
Wild Futures

Green Shoots New Business – Sponsored by Community Energy Plus
Gingerpop Communications
The Garden Gate Flower Company
Wattstor Ltd

Best Integrated Renewable Energy System in a Building – Sponsored by South West Water
Andrew Davy Elecrical (SW) Ltd
Cottage Farm

Best Cornish Renewable Energy Installation Company – Sponsored by REG Wind Power
Celtic Renewable Energy Ltd
Natural Generation Ltd
Source Energy Ltd

Best Community Renewable Energy Scheme – Sponsored by Dingle Brothers
Community Power Cornwall
Green Ripple Project
WREN (Wadebridge Renewable Energy Network)

Best Domestic Renewable Energy Scheme – Sponsored by Airvolution
Cottage Farm
Green Ripple Project
The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony taking place on Friday, December 6 at the Atlantic Hotel, Newquay.