University students celebrated their achievements at the annual Falmouth and Exeter Students’ Union (FXU) awards ceremony.

The event was planned and organised by the combined students’ union for Falmouth University and the University of Exeter in Cornwall to recognise achievements across the full range of FXU activities, from fundraising and volunteering to sporting triumphs and academic representation.

The evening was hosted by elected student representatives, Chaz Malyon (UoE president), Isis O’Regan |(Falmouth president), Frankie Boyd (vice-president welfare), and Oli Maskrey (vice-president participation).

Winners were presented with unique, hand-crafted trophies created by Callum Corbett and James Bristow, who are sustainable product design students from Falmouth.

Oli Maskrey, vice-president participation, said of the awards: “They give students the chance each year to celebrate achievements beyond their academic studies and showcase the |many ways in which students make the most of their time at university in Cornwall. We also recognise members of staff for their contribution to the student experience and their outstanding teaching.”

Falmouth Packet:


The Daniel Palmer Award: Joan Passey, for her contribution to the student experience as FXU’s community officer; contribution to sustainability in the student community, Miriam Vesma; student media/innovation project of the year, Pig House Pictures; significant contribution to fundraising, Joe Coxson, Lily Darvell and Roger Auster; most original fundraising idea, Monkey Week from Liselle Jackson, Bethany Roberts, Zeya Wagner, Matthew Carey, Holly Fisher and Daisy Gates; best contribution to representation and democracy activities, Alex Falconer; best overall contribution to FXU activities, Lillian Darvell; student rep of the year (Falmouth University), Sarah Kemball; student rep of the year (University of Exeter), Charlton Bland; society of the year, Christian Union; outstanding society committee member, Jamie Collier from St John Links; innovative society project of the year, Life Magazine; sports person of the year male and female, Andy Jones  and Frances Bensley; outstanding sports club committee member, Tamara Morris; sports club of the year, climbing; outstanding contribution to the student experience, Jemma Julian; outstanding contribution to student wellbeing, Frankie Boyd; outstanding teaching (Falmouth University), Kuldip Singh-Barmi; iInnovative teaching (Falmouth University), Dee Ferrett; outstanding teaching (University of Exeter), Dr Andrew McInnes; innovative teaching (University of Exeter), Professor Robbie McDonald; mentor of the year (University of Exeter), William Haslam; ambassador of the year (University of Exeter), Chris Lewis; mentor of the year (Falmouth University), Gareth Wilde; ambassador of the year (Falmouth University), Lizzy Barnes; contribution to the community through volunteering, Clare Deane; FXU special recognition award, Anne George (director of Academic and Student Services, Falmouth Exeter Plus).