There were record breaking entries at this year’s Coose Trannack Cross Country Races on Saturday, which had been organised by the Friends of Trannack School.

A total of 528 competitors completed the challenging course. Coose Trannack is a Millennium Woodland planted by the Woodland Trust in 2000 in conjunction with Trannack Primary School on the outskirts of Helston. The woodland is open all year round to the general public, but is taken over once a year by youngsters who take on the cross country course.

The weather kindly held off for a highly successful morning of races including an adults fun race this year. The Friends of Trannack School would like to thank all the participating schools and clubs and all the competitors and spectators and contributors to this event - particularly the sponsors, whom without their support, the event would not be as successful. These included: Woodland Trust, Helstonbury, South West Forestry, At Your Pace, Jewsons of Helston, Pheonix Signs, Chartwells, Cornish Spring Water, Harris Begley Financial Planning, Sainsburys, Tescos

and Warburtons.


Under 17 Girls: 1, Nell Packer, Falmouth School; 2, Emma Crisp, Penryn College. Under 13 Boys: 1, James Houghton, Falmouth School; 2, William Piccin-White, Polwhele House; 3, Andrew Simpson, St Ives School.

Under 13 Girls: 1, Caitlin Keany, Penair School/Cornwall Athletics Club; 2, Hannah Moses, Polwhele House;

3, Scarlet Thornton, St Ives School. Year six boys: 1, Will Stirling, St Uny C of E Academy; 2, Jago Leuzzi, Mylor School/Cornwall Athletics Club; 3, Archie Burnett, Devoran School. Number of runners, 44

Year six girls: 1, Holly Jenkins, Connor Downs/Hayle Runners; 2, Erin Goldring, Chacewater School; 3, Meghan Sims, St Stephens Churchtown Academy. Number of runners, 30

Year five boys: 1, Archie Mallet, Mithian School; 2, Finn Costa, Devoran School; 3, Harvey Waters, Leedstown School. Number of runners, 41

Year five girls: 1, Kitty O’Halloran, Devoran School; 2, Xanthe Perkin, St Uny C of E Academy; 3, Jocelyn Eccleston, St Frances C of E Academy/Cornwall Athletics Club. Number of runners, 34

Year four boys: 1, Harry Thomas, Godolphin School; 2, Rory Sim, Truro Prep; 3, Cassius Vaardal, Truro Prep.

Number of runners, 46.

Year four girls: 1, Aalayah Young, Troon School; 2, Alice Webster, Truro Prep; 3, Kaci Swanepoel, Godolphin School. Number of runners, 30.

Year three boys: 1, Tom Robilliard, Archbishop Benson; 2, Charlie Mitchell, Archbishop Benson; 3, Louis Tucker, Archbishop Benson. Number of runners, 79.

Year three girls: 1, Megan Leval, Perran-ar-Worthal School; 2, Lara Harrold, Archbishop Benson; 3, Daisy Besford, Illogan School. Number of runners, 43.

Year two boys: 1, Luke Costa, Devoran; 2, Jowan Chapman, St Mary’s C of E School; 3, Otto Burnett, Devoran.

Number of runners, 44.

Year two girls: 1, Jolie Gibbs, Godolphin Primary School/Mounts Bay Harriers; 2, Emma Harrold, Archbishop Benson; 3, Poppy Wood, Nansloe Academy. Number of runners, 32.

Year one boys: 1, Tom Reid, Truro Prep; 2, Charlie Mills, St Michael’s C of E School; 3, Tom Woolliscroft, Parc Eglos. Number of runners, 25.

Year one girls:1, Olivia Robilliard, Archbishop Benson; 2, Jessica Blake, Devoran; 3, Carla Waters, Leedstown School. Number of runners, 25

Reception boys: 1, Isaac Matthews, Parc Eglos; 2, Aaron Ivy, Godolphin School; 3, Tristan Cochrane, Polwhele House. Number of runners, 18

Reception girls: 1, Athina Roberts, Archbishop Benson; 2, Emily Harvey, Parc Eglos; 3, Florence May, Devoran.

Number of runners, 21.

Secondary school winners: Winner, Falmouth School; runner up, St Ives School. Primary school winners:

winner: Archbishop Benson; runner up, Devoran. Club winner: winner, Cornwall Athletics Club; runner up, Hayle Runners.