The votes have been counted and the dust has settled, temporarily at least - so here's a round up of all the county, town and parish election results for Falmouth, Penryn and surrounding areas.

Cornwall Council:

In Penryn Tony Martin (Con) has retained Penryn East, narrowly defeating Mylor parish chairman John Symons (Ind) by 343 votes to 327.

Councillor Mrs Mary May was re-elected for Penryn West with 43% of the vote.

Chris Ridgers (Con) has lost the Mabe, Perranarworthal and St Gluvias seat to Michael Charles Keogh (UKIP) by 3 votes.

Conservative Neil Hatton has retained the Constantine, Mawnan and Budock seat with 57% of the vote.

In Falmouth the fresh crop of Cornwall Councillors include former MP Candy Atherton (Lab),  who won the Smithick ward with 316 votes. This was the seat that town councillor Diana Merritt was contesting. She came second with 156.

In a very close run race Alan Jewell (Con) has taken the Boslowick ward from incumbent Steve Eva. The race in this ward was very tight, with Alan Jewell on 289 votes, Steve Eva on 274 votes and Roger Bonney on 262 votes. UKIP put in a strong showing here as well, with Mairi Hayworth getting 237 votes.

Falmouth's mayor Geoffrey Evans (Con) retained his Arwenack seat with an enormous 69% share of the vote and David Saunby (Ind) kept his in Trescobeas by quite a margin. Vicky Eva, wife of former Cornwall Councillor Steve Eva came fourth in Mr Saunby's division.

Hanna Toms won Penwerris for Labour, defeating stalwart of the area and standing councillor Grenville Chappell by 361 votes against his 283.

Lanner and Stithians was won by John Thomas (Ind) beating Neil Plummer, who recently helped approve the controversial Halvasso solar farm development.

Town and Parish Councils:


For the new Smithick Ward - Candy Atherton (Lab) with 392 votes, Oliver Cramp (Lib Dem) with 252 votes and Diana Merrett (Ind) with 313 votes have been elected. Turnout - 28%

For the Trescobeas Ward - David Saunby (Ind) with 706 votes, Broderick Ross (Lab) with 409 votes and Vicky Eva (Ind) with 393 have been elected. Turnout - 33% 
Keven Ayres (370 votes) and Allyson Biggins (273 votes) have lost their seats.

For the Penwerris Ward - Grenville Chappel with 484 votes, John Body (Ind) with 374 votes and Gerald Chin-Quee (Ind) with 373 votes have been elected. Turnout - 28%

For the Boslowick Ward - Steve Eva (Ind) with 539 votes, Alan Jewell (Con) with 518 votes, Patricia Ann Minson (Ind) with 505 votes and Rowenna Brock (Ind) with 427 votes have been elected. Turnout - 33% 
Marie Ryan (402 votes) has lost her seat.

Arwenack Ward was uncontested. Maureen Davies (Lib Dem), Geoffrey Evans (Con) and Steven Gray have been elected.


Both wards were uncontested. In Penryn West Nick Ferris, David Garwood (MK), Keven Green, Beverly Hulme, Cait Hutchings, John Langan, Mary May, Kathleen Peters, Glanville Rickard, Mark Snowdon and Ted Wilkes have been elected.

In Penryn East the councillors are Vicky Bennett, Gill Grant, John Hodge, Martin Mullins and Victor Tullin.

Mylor and Flushing:

Elected to Mylor and Flushing Parish Council are Sam Heard with 555 votes, Patrick Polglase with 477 votes, John Symons with 452 votes, Jan Robson (Ind) with 432 votes, Michael Willmore with 423 votes, Bob Bridges with 383 votes, Mike Burden with 372 votes, Martin Jewell with 359 votes, Tony Deacon with 353 votes, Alma Hall (Ind) with 342 votes, Judith Whiteley with 335 votes, Gill Bray with 318 votes and Robert Rogers with 299 votes.
Turnout - 48% 
Haylee Leary (299 votes) has lost her seat.


Mabe Parish Council was uncontested. The councillors elected are: Tessa Kingsley, Francis Miller, Stephen Nisbet, Roger Phillips, Richard Scrase (Ind), Mark Smith, Barry Steptoe, Andrew Thomas and Peter Tisdale (Ind). A tenth seat remains to be filled.


Budock Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are: John Bastin, Irene Clark, Peter Fairbank, Robert Gibson, Philip Hart, Nigel Hennell (Ind), Timothy McCabe (Ind) and Hazel Perham. Two seats remain to be filled.


Mawnan Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are: David Barnicoat (Ind), David Gibbons, Elizabeth Lawry, Timothy Lug and Rex Sadler (Ind). Five seats remain to be filled.


Constantine Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are: Anthony Bolt, Paul Carter, Elizabeth D'Alton, Sylvia Dunstan, Charlotte Evans, Colin Gray, Richard Lewis, Eric Nicholls and Neil Wiseman. Two seats remain to be filled.


Stithians Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are James Biscoe (Ind), Phillip Blease (Ind), Joanna Godolphin (Ind), Vivian Kavanagh, Roger Nicholls (Ind), Denis Nightingale and Peter Tisdale. Four seats remain to be filled.


Perranarworthal Parish Council was uncontested. Elected are: John Allen, Graham Brown, Peter Fox (Ind), Christopher Hatch, Hugh Kneebone and Mark Pryor. Four seats remain to be filled.


All three wards were contested for Feock Parish Council. In the Devoran Ward Claire Carter (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 306 votes, Vanessa Gordon (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 289 votes, Dominic Kiernander (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 284 votes and Benedict Shankland (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 299 votes were elected.
Turnout - 55% 
Rachel Westley (162 votes) and Sue Baker (158 votes) have lost their seats.

In the Feock Ward John Brock with 308 votes, Colin Blake with 242 votes, Caroline Johnson (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 238 votes, Robin Andrew with 233 votes and Timothy Smithies (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 214 votes were elected.
Turnout - 49% 
Alan Groves (111 votes), Diana Smeath (104 votes) and Colin Taylor (80 votes) have lost their seats.

In the Carnon Downs Ward Robert Richards with 346 votes, Catherine Kemp (Ind - New Parish Partnership) with 269 votes, Susan Felton with 258 votes, John Langdon with 256 votes and Michael Kemp with 245 votes have been elected.
Turnout - 49% 
James Bell (226 votes) has lost his seat.