Residents of the Truro and Rosleand Community Network area are being invited to attend the September meeting of their network panel when items on the agenda will include the health initiative ‘social prescribing’ and highway improvements.

The meeting will take place on Tuesday, September 26, between 7pm and 9pm in the Trelawny Room, New County Hall, Truro.

Donna Chapman from NHS Kernow clinical commissioning group will be attending with other representatives from Public Health including Lander Practice, Truro Health Park and the Chaos Group. They will be explaining the benefits of ‘social prescribing’ for those with mild or long-term mental health problems, or who are vulnerable or socially isolated.

To help meet social and emotional needs GPs and nurses refer individuals to non-clinical services, which are typically provided by voluntary and community sector organisations and can include volunteering, arts activities, group learning, gardening, befriending, cookery, healthy eating advice and a range of sports.

Highways England will also provide an update on plans to transform the A30 between Chiverton and Carland Cross by creating a dual carriageway. Josh Hodder, the scheme's project manager, will talk about the preferred route and what happens before the construction phase.

There will also be a briefing on Cornwall Council’s Cabinet decision on September 6 to strengthen engagement with local communities and give them a greater voice through community network panels. This includes empowering panels by giving them more of a say on important local issues.

At the meeting there will also be an opportunity for local residents to ask any questions they may have.

The Truro and Roseland Network Panel meets bi-monthly to discuss matters that affect the local area and progress these by working in partnership with Cornwall Council and its partners. The panel includes all ten Cornwall councillors for the area, representatives of Truro City Council and the 18 parish councils in the community network: Chacewater, Cuby, Feock, Gerrans, Grampound with Creed, Kea, Kenwyn, Ladock, Philleigh, Probus, Ruan Lanihorne, St Clement, St Erme, St Just-in-Roseland, St Michael Caerhays, St Michael Penkevil, Tregony and Veryan.