The final six matches in the first round groups produced few surprises and just the odd change in league placings, but St Austell stormed to yet another resounding victory and Falmouth 1 reclaimed top seeding from Group B.

There was also a close mid-table contest in this group, when Newquay went under by just one wicket to Wadebridge.  Jon Hancock made a useful 30 not out and Alec Gill took 2 wickets for 9 runs for Wadebridge.

Falmouth’s top of the table clash with Camborne was well contested but, in reality, a comfortable run-chase for Falmouth, after they were set just 86 to win. Top individual contribution was Craig Johnson’s 32* for the group runners-up.

In Group A, what looked like a very decent clash between two in-form sides turned out to be anything but as, in reply to St Austell’s 115 for 3 (Mike Bone 32*), Beacon’s batting was destroyed in just three overs by Scott Barrott. 

One of the best Cornish bowlers in this form of cricket, Barrott completed an almost full set of dismissals, taking four wickets for nine runs in his two overs. 

Shot out for 14, Beacon must now pull themselves together for the second group stage, where they will at least have the slightly more comfortable proposition of facing St Blazey and Ladock for a semi-final place.

In other matches Team 21 recorded an easy win over Falmouth’s second team, for whom Greg Stephens, dropped on 0, went on to make 39* out of their 58 for 4.  Joe Skinner was almost unplayable in his two overs, 2 wickets for 5 runs and Oliver Paull took the other two wickets to fall.  Jack Paull made 27 in Team 21’s stroll to victory, but they now face Falmouth’s first team and Grampound Road in the next two weeks.

Results: St Austell 115-3, Beacon 14 (St Austell won by 101 runs); Falmouth 2  58-5, Team 21  59-2 (Team 21 won by 4 wickets); CSM 36-3, Ladock 37-0 (Ladock won by 6 wickets); Camborne 85-4, Falmouth 1 86-3 (Falmouth 1 won by 3 wickets).