Bizarre refereeing decisions, rash challenges, and goals galore. Helston Athletic battled their way to the semi finals of the Senior Cup after overcoming premier division opponents Liskeard 5-3 after extra time.

Ashely Stidwell and Blues manager Sid Taylor watched the final 15 minutes from the sidelines after being shown red cards, while the home side ended the game with ten men after Lee Blatchford's studs-up tackle on Helston striker Mark Goldsworthy resulted in him receiving his marching orders, and Goldsworthy going off injured.

Liskeard stunned Helston by taking a third minute lead thanks to striker Robbie Almond's cool finish.

But Helston fought back with two goals in two minutes courtesy of Goldsworthy (41) and strike partner Liam Eddy (43).

After the break Almond scored his second after capitalising on a poor Helston clearance to fire into the top corner and draw the scores level.

And despite Blatchford's sending off soon after, Helston were unable to capitalise on their numercial advantage and the deadlock remained unbroken after 90 minutes.

Five mintes into the first period of extra time Liam Eddy smashed in Helston's third off the underside of the cross bar, before Forse awarded Liskeard a contentious penalty for a tug on Tom Hall by defender Kirk Davies.

Up stepped Almond to send Jason robertson the wrong way and complete his hat trick.

The penalty decision incensed the Helston bench, with Taylor and substituted Ashley Stidwell both shown red cards in the midst of chaotic scenes on the sidelines.

Ben Stidwell poked in Helston's fourth late in the second period, before Eddy fired in the fifth to seal the victory seven minutes from time.

Helston will play Newqauy in the quarter finals after Glynn Hooper's side overcame a spirited St Dennis 4-3.

Elsewhere Penryn registered a shock victory over Torpoint Athletic to book their place in the final four. Dale Band and Steve Jewell's side will face premier division champions Bodmin in the semi final at Wadebridge on Wednesday, March 6.

Helston: J Robertson, C Strike (M Fox 95), A Stidwell (A Collick 64), K Davies, B Stidwell, C Young, T Russell, J Adlard, J Thirkle, L Eddy, M Goldsworthy (D Stidwell 69). Subs (not used): M Webster, H Howlett, J Thomson.