Hockey: Falmouth retain under 18s County Cup with victory over Truro

First published in Sport

Falmouth won a very close and exciting match against Truro to retain the County Under 18 Cup. 

Both teams played some excellent hockey with the players giving their all and showing great skill and commitment. 

Falmouth started well, taking an early lead, as Iona Middleton pushed the ball over the line from close range after several shots had been saved.  However, Falmouth failed to hold their lead as Truro drew level to 1-1. 

Falmouth regained the lead as a strike from Philippa Eddy was deflected into the goal by a Truro defender.  As Truro once again put pressure on Falmouth they again pulled level as a Falmouth defender deflected into her own goal. 

Just before half time Truro took the lead as they scored from a quick break to make the score 3-2 to Truro at the break.

In the second half there were chances at both ends but the defences managed to clear the danger.  Just before the final whistle Falmouth were awarded a penalty corner.

The final whistle blew and Falmouth piled everyone up to attack as the corner had to be taken.  The initial shot was saved but the ball came back to Captain, Philippa Eddy who struck the ball into the corner of the goal to take the score to 3-3 and the game into extra time.

After the two periods of exciting extra time in which there were no further goals it was time for the nail biting penalty flicks.  The first three penalty takers from both teams converted their flicks, Truro converted their fourth but the Falmouth flick was saved. 

Truro had the opportunity to put the cup beyond the reach of Falmouth but goalkeeper Hannah Bowman made the save which put the pressure onto Falmouth to score to make it level again. 
Now it was time for sudden death penalty flicks. 

Hannah Bowman made a great save and Lori Kaack converted her flick to give the title to Falmouth.  A win by the closest of margins which reflected a very evenly balanced match.

Falmouth:- Hannah Bowman, Philippa Eddy, Heidi Dale, Lori Kaack, Amy Figgins, Emily Dunstan, Hannah Whear, Emily Darnell, Iona Middleton, Emily Gusterson, Imojen Penry, Emma Bragg

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree