When Ealing Trailfinders visit the Mennaye Field on Sunday – the kick-off is at 2pm -  it will be a first time match in Cornwall against the Cornish Pirates, who will naturally extend a warm welcome to their West London opponents.

Former Pirates Tom Bedford, Ryan Storer and Mat Evans are expected to feature for the Trailfinders, and although presently lying at the foot of the league table, theirs is a challenge not to be taken lightly.

Promoted as National League One Champions last season, the most recent newcomers to the Championship are, as is not unusual, scrapping for their lives to avoid relegation,  and will rightly be perceived as being dangerous opponents.

The Cornish Pirates emerged 31-17 points winners when the two teams met for the first time at Trailfinders' Vallis Way ground, West Ealing, in September, and it was a day when experienced prop Alan Paver also featured.

Out for a spell because of injury, a fit again 'Paves' will be delighted to be back in action this weekend, as one of a number of changes to the team that disappointingly lost 25-6 away to London Scottish last Saturday.

Director of Rugby Ian Davies will be looking for a positive reaction following his team's defeat at the Athletic Ground, Richmond. Ahead of Sunday's game, which for the Cornish Pirates is their first Championship game at home in 2014, he commented:

“Our defeat at London Scottish, where in the second half we disappointingly posed no threat at all, has made things difficult for us, and I want a big reaction and big attitude shift from the team selected this weekend.

“We will take nothing for granted against Ealing, remembering that their two wins in the Championship have been away from home, and it'll be important for us to control the field and possession to allow us to play our game.”

The Cornish Pirates selection is as follows:-

Cornish Pirates: 15 Kieran Goss, 14 Mike Pope, 13 Alex Dancer, 12 Junior Fatialofa, 11 Kyle Moyle, 10 Kieran Hallett, 9 Tom Kessell; 1 Shane Cahill, 2 Tom Channon, 3 Alan Paver, 4 Neale Patrick, 5 Darren Barry, 6 Chris Morgan (capt), 7 Joe Atkinson, 8 Aaron Carpenter.

Replacements: 16 Rob Elloway, 17 Jack Andrew, 18 Jake Parker, 19 Alex Cheesman, 20 Angus Sinclair, 21 Tom Hendrickson, 22 Craig Holland. 

Referee: Luke Pearce (RFU)      Assistants: Philip Davies & Clare Daniels