Camborne 27 Penryn 8

Camborne duly progressed to a Tribute Cup Final showdown with St Austell after working hard for a four try semi final victory over a determined Penryn side at the Recreation Ground.

The Borough played with great spirit throughout against a powerful home side which will have pleased their coaching duo of Paul Trevaskis and Phil Wells both of whom wore the Cherry & White jersey with distinction in previous years.

For ‘Town’ injuires picked up by backs Grant Thirlby and Joel Matavesi will be a worry ahead of this weekend’s crucial South West One clash at Clevedon.

Though the visitors had first use of the wind and slope it was Camborne that took the lead when full back Thirlby found the posts with a 3rd minute penalty.

Still inside the first quarter a charged down clearance kick gave visiting full back Josh Chambers the opportunity for the game’s opening try and a 3-5 scoreline.

Penryn fly half Rob Banks then soon knocked over a long range penalty to increase their advantage to five points but this was to be the last scoring of the opening period.

From the 2nd half resumption the Cherry & Whites piled on the pressure notching three tries in a twelve minute purple patch to put the tie out of the visitors’ reach.

In the opening exchanges a break by fly half Richard Kevern and some good work from wing Rob Floyd took play to the Penryn posts from where flanker Cameron Bone crashed over. Thirlby’s simple conversion gave his team the lead.

More slick handling with centre Laurie Manna involved then created a 56th minute corner try dotted down by Thirlby. This was quickly followed by a catch and drive effort from impressive No 8 Dave Roberts improved by replacement David Mankee with a well judged kick for 22-8.

In the final quarter the only further points came from another unstoppable catch and drive from the ‘Town’ pack which prop Will Webster touched down. The resilient visitors then put together a number of good attacks but each time the home defence held firm.

Camborne, the Tribute Cup holders, can now look forward to defending the trophy in the final at Redruth on the 5th May.

Camborne: Grant Thirlby, Rob Floyd, Steve Kenward (capt), Laurie Manna, Joel Matavesi, Richard Kevern, Dean Pascoe, Will Webster, Simon Hoon, Leigh Hocking, Ben Kemp, Olly Reynolds, George Hall, Cameron Bone, Dave Roberts. (Reps) Nigel Endean, Andrius Zachorovas, John Griffiths, David Mankee, Liam Chapple

Penryn: Josh Chambers, Issac Fields, Mitchell Vague, Andrew Seviour, Will Paine, Rob Banks, Taron Peacock, Matt Williams, Ben Birkett, Kirk Oldfield, Martin Rainford, Ben Trevaskis, George Jones, Phil Hinchley, Grant Randlesome. (Reps) Ethan Patterson, Dan Booth, Chris Hellier, Adam Hughes, Rob Trevaskis

Camborne tries Bone, Thirlby, Roberts, Webster cons Thirlby, Mankee pen Thirlby

Penryn try Chambers pen Banks