AFTER a glorious spell of weather in June, the oilskins finally had the dust washed off them for the fifth race in the Mylor Chandlery and Rigging series, writes Chris Davis.

Just seventeen boats raced in lowering skies and pouring rain, meaning not much joy in racing on Friday evening. However, there was enough wind to make some decent boat speed, so the race officer set long courses with opportunities for some tactical play and a fair few close quarter right-of-way decisions.

In E fleet, the Albin Nova Aura, skippered by Euan Beattie, and the First Class 8 4Play, captained by John Kulpa, had a close battle for most of the race. Aura ended up pulling away and took first place, leaving 4Play in second place and the Formula One Mavis Cruet, manned by Dave Sincock, in third place.

It was unfortunate that one boat in this class lost her mast in the latter stages of the race, probably due to a failure in one of the shroud fastenings. One of the crew was hit by the boom as the mast gave way. After some first aid, that person was clearly shaken but thankfully no lasting damage was done.

In U fleet, the race was more of a procession, as the Contessa 26 Mary Boon, helmed by John Cruise, dominated the race from the outset. Tomaray, skippered by Jon Myers, took second place and fellow Contessa 26 Hera, manned by Des Teale, came third.

The racing was much closer in Q fleet. The race was won by the Sadler 26 Souchong, captained by Colin Sadler. This boat is now sailing very well again, now that the anti-fouling problems have been solved.

There was a close race between the Elizabethan 29 Tilly of Mylor, which had Barry Edgington at the helm, and the MG Spring 25 Mara, manned by Martin Wilson, with Mara securing second place only in the last minutes of the race.

Just two Shrimpers raced this week. Grace of St Just, captained by John Benge, took first place with Pelican, manned by Richard Lewis, coming second.

RESULTS E class: 1st Aura - E Beattie, 2nd 4Play - John Kulpa, 3rd Mavis Cruet - D Sincock.

U class: 1st Mary Boon - J Cruise, 2nd Tomaray - J Myers, 3rd Hera - D Teale.

Q class: 1st Souchong - C Sadler, 2nd Mara - M Wilson, 3rd Tilly of Mylor - B Edgington.

H class: 1st Grace of St Just - J Benge, 2nd Pelican - R Lewis.