RACING has been hotly contested on the seas after the annual Falmouth Week hit the town’s streets.

Boats have taken to the water for races at both Falmouth and Mylor Yacht Clubs in the first few days of the festival.

In the Bay Series competition held in Mylor, Jemalda came home first the E Fleet with Julia Hopkins and David Muirhead onboard.

Bob Chapple was celebrating in R Fleet as he finished first on Wilkie.

At the same club, the Hayes Parsons Carrick Fleet competition was also held with ten classes of boat taking part.

First places went to John Peters onboard Rita in B, the Paul Ferris-skippered Lottie in C and Spinaway, manned by Richard Brown in D.

A boat with no name which was captained by David Sweet was first home in F while Scallywag, skippered by Andy Platt, won in G.

The race in H class was won by Michael Wilson’s Henrietta, the duo of Mandy and Dave Owen cruised their vessel Aurora to the J fleet title and Verity, manned by Neil Andrew, was the best in V.

Just like in F class, the winning boat in K had no name either with Tim Dewhurst at the helm while W fleet was won by John Howard’s Aeolus.

Racing at Falmouth came in the form of the Spinlock IRC SW Championships as three classes entered.

Duncan Adams sailed Vindscreen Viper to glory in Class One while Encore, captained by David Cunliffe, took the Class Two title.

Victory in the final class fell to Mike Swingler onboard Hecate.

For more information on other races taking part during the festival, visit