PAUL Smith had to settle for his second runners-up placing in as many weeks after being beaten by just one competitor in the St Levan 10km.

The Cornwall Athletics Club member who lives in Mawnan Smith was second behind Neil Eddy of the Mount Bays Harriers in the race organised as part of the Cornwall Grand Prix.

Smith, who was the runner-up in a 3,000 metre race at Carn Brea last week, clocked a time of 35:03 in the event which is the most westerly in England.

This was 27 seconds behind Eddy in the men’s race after building a lead from Crean Bottom after one mile before adding to it on the long uphill climb at Trebhor.

Helston’s Emma Stepto took home another win in the female category and pushed hard with Eddy as she attempted to become the first female to beat all the men in a Grand Prix series event.

Alas it was not to be as Eddy pulled away from Stepto towards the end of the race, with the Cornwall AC lady finishing in 35:01.

Other Cornwall AC runner had a good evening with Dave Buzza finishing fourth in the men’s race while Colin Snook also scored a top ten finish, coming seventh.

The Helston-based duo of Jason Webb and Russ Adams finished 17th and 34th to help the Cornwall AC men to claim second in the team competition, which was won by Newquay Road Runners.

Andrew Laurie from Falmouth Road Runners put in a decent time of 40:50 to come 38th in the men’s race and second in the 50-54 age group category.

Penryn’s Mile High Running Club also featured in the race with their top performer being Dave Angell who crossed the line in 45th place.

In the Ladies, Julia Pearce, from Mabe, finished seventh with her time of 43:36 helping the Cornwall AC women win the team race.

RESULTS KEY FOR CLUBS B&B Blackheath & Bromley Harriers AC, BWRC Bodmin Womens Running Club, CAC Cornwall AC, CR Carn Runners, EVH Erme Valley Harriers, FRR Falmouth Road Runners, HR Hayle Runners, LRR Launceston Road Runners, MBH Mounts Bay Harriers, NRR Newquay Road Runners, RRR Royton Road Runners, SH Shettleston Harriers, Glasgow, STA St Austell Running Club, U Unattached.

Men: 1 Neil Eddy MBH 34.36, 2 Paul Smith CAC 35.03, 3 Jordan Morant HR 35.13, 4 Dave Buzza CAC 35.22, 5 Alex Daniels NRR 35.49, 6 Jonas Gummesson NRR 35.59, 7 Colin Snook CAC 36.40, 8 Jonny Colaco NRR 36.45, 9 Iain Ware NRR 36.50, 10 Anthony Jarvis STA 36.54.

Team: 1 NRR (71 points), 2 CAC (79), 3 HR (104) Ladies: 1 Emma Stepto CAC 35.01, 2 Eleanor Davis NRR 36.54, 3 Emma Schuck HR 36.55, 4 Carole Setchell SH 37.52, 5 Donna Raggett CAC 40.29, 6 Anne Waller MBH 41.43, 7 Julia Pearce CAC 43.36, 8 Karen McClay MBH 43.56, 9 Jaine Swift EVH 45.03, 10 Janna Eyre CR 45.05.

Team: 1 CAC (70), MBH (122), 3 NRR (145).