There was very much a Caribbean theme at Penzance Cricket Club on Sunday, where many of the best cricketers from the Premier and Division 1 Leagues gathered for the inaugural Big Bash Twenty/20 event, which it is hoped will become an annual fixture in the cricket calendar.

With play starting at just after 10:30, the first semi final match between Penwith Pirates and Duchy Dynamite provided a reasonably comfortable 52-run win for the Greg Smith skippered Pirates team.

The second semi final followed and was a much closer affair with the Tamar Tigers just edging out Kernow Super Kings by 2 runs.

There was plenty at stake for the tournaments winning team, the honour of winning the inaugural event and also £5,500 prize money (£500 per player), to be shared between the winning players clubs, the Tamar Tigers batted first and set about the Pirates bowlers, scoring 158-4.

This looked a challenging total, and so it proved with the Pirates bowled out for 122. Thus, Tamar Tigers became the winners of the trophy.


Thanks were expressed to Penzance Cricket Club for hosting the event, in particular Greg and Debbie Smith, Lisa Bond and Neil Tregarthen for organising the event, and the many others that made the event possible.

Thanks are also expressed to the three umpires, Simon Meneer, Roy Strout and Tim Boston, and scorers Elaine Clayton and Wendy Orchard.

Tamar Tigers skipper Paul Smith accepted the winners' trophy on behalf of his team from Penzance Cricket Club President Godfrey Adams.

The other award winners were as follows: Batter of the day: Pieter Knoetze; Bowler of the day: Dan Lello; Player of the tournament: Adam Hodgson.

Results & Scores: 1st semi final

Penwith Pirates 165 - 6 (G Smith 64, N Pobega 23*, B Wadlan 17; M Wajihuddin 2-23).

Duchy Dynamite 113 - 7 (S Harvey 35, S Richards 25, T Wyatt 21; J Stephens 3-13)

Result: Penwith Pirates won by 52 runs.

2nd semi final

Tamar Tigers 145-8 (P Knoetz 31, C McLachlan 28*;G Bone 3-31).

Kernow Super Kings 143-8 (J Turpin 37, G Bone 24*, J Preston 22; A Hodgson 4-26).

Result: Tamar Tigers won by 2 runs


Tamar Tigers 158-4 (M Gribble 45*, P Knoetz 43, C McLachlan 27*, A Hodgson 24; D Lello 3-19).

Penwith Pirates 122-10 (N Curnow 41, A Angove 21; (? Wilson 3-16, T Dinnis 2-14).

Result: Tamar Tigers won by 36 runs.