The Conservative Party candidate has won the Mabe seat on Cornwall Council by just one vote, beating the Lib Dem candidate into second place.

Voters have elected Reginald George Peter Williams as the Cornwall Councillor for the Mabe, Perranarworthal and St Gluvias electoral division.

The results of the by election held on Thursday, 17 July were :

Reginald George Peter Williams (The Conservative Party Candidate) 406.

John Anthony Ault (Liberal Democrats) 405

Peter Tisdale, (UK Independence Party UKIP) 271

Linda Margaret Hitchcox (Labour Party) 107

Karen Sumser-Lupson (Mebyon Kernow – The Party for Cornwall ) 58

The turnout for the by election was 28.6 per cent.