Students at Falmouth School and Falmouth College celebrated their achievements at the Spring Commendation Evening last week.

Students from years seven to 13 were recognised for either fantastic progress or attainment since September. There was also the significant contribution award, which recognises particular excellence across the school and college.

Awards were broken down into Lower School (years seven and eight), Upper School (years nine to 11) and post-16 Falmouth College students, defined by faculty. The categories on the evening included: STEM, which focuses on science, technology, engineering and maths; communications, which includes English and languages; and humanities and performance, which looked at the arts and sport.

The audience arrived to the sound of Marcia Hammond, who sang guests to their seats with a selection of songs. In the communications category it was Jasmine Squibb, Thomas Wright, Maisie Chapman, Sophia Averiss, Matthew Pellow, Ethan Andrewartha and Marcia Hammond who picked up the evening's first awards. Gracie Bidgood, Lauren Vosper, Jacob Hurtel-Hymans, Tamzyn Berry, Jack Tuffery, Ella Longhorn and Lou Symons were the recipients of the next set of awards for STEM.

The humanities' awards went to Callum Stephens, Blaise Harwin, Oliver Bareham, Eleanor Hingston, Saffi Richardson, Reuben Hesser and Ben Pellow. There were also two significant contribution awards, for a school student and college student. Hannah Attree collected the Upper School award, for her meticulous planning of the upcoming school prom. Alex Ould received the college award for the recent production of a short film, presenting the trailer to the audience.

In the performance category, Erin Mooney, Finn Seager, Leon Shaw, Izzy Macpherson, Josh Craven, Bill Munden, Matilda McLeod and Beth King picked up awards.

The final category of the night recognised Falmouth College students, with Max Penhallurrick, Joe Rudge, Maddie Tite, Jonas Van den Heuval and Tadhg Cullen the winners. Head boy Sennen Addinall took to the piano to provide some peaceful background music as guests mingled, following the end of the awards.

Head of school Alex George said: “The students who picked up awards have all had an outstanding spring term and were rightly recognised for their superb progress, attainment and contributions to the school and college. We’re all really proud of them and congratulate them all.”