It has been a stellar start to the season for Penryn Athletic, with neither of their first or second teams tasting defeat this term.

The firsts have won all eight of their St Piran League West games, while the reserves have won five and drawn three of their eight Combination League matches.

Driven by curiosity, and without wishing to jinx either team, I had a look at some of the recent inductees into the unbeaten hall of fame. There have been quite a few down the years.

Falmouth Town can lay claim to being the Cornish side that has gone unbeaten at the highest level of English football, after their success in the Western League in the 1974/75 season.

Newly promoted Town won 31 and lost nine of their 40 games, scoring 122 goals as they won the first of four successive Western League titles.

Town also went unbeaten in the South Western League four years earlier, winning 31 and drawing three, with St Blazey doing the same in 2001/02.

No team has managed to go unbeaten in the South West Peninsula League since its inception in 2007.

Plymouth Parkway came closest in the Premier in 2017/18, losing just once, while a handful of clubs have done the same in Division 1 West, including Sticker, Mousehole and Liskeard Athletic, with the latter doing it as recently as last season.

Penryn’s reserves have history of success in the Combination League, with the team going unbeaten in 2009/10. Unusually, they did not win the league that year, with Athletic drawing ten of 38 games to finish five points behind Illogan RBL, who lost three times.

The only other team to go unbeaten in the Combo was Truro City reserves, who won 35 and drew three to win the title in their final season in the league in 2007/08.

Truro scored a whopping 172 goals that year as they won the league by 15 points, despite being deducted six.

Penryn’s first team came within a whisker of an unbeaten Combo campaign in 1993/94, losing just once that year. Porthleven did the same in 1978/79, while both Port and Penzance reserves lost just one in 1965/66, with Port winning two more games to nick the title.

There have been several unbeaten campaigns since the Trelawny League’s inception in 2011. Ruan Minor are the most recent after they romped to the Division 2 title last season, winning 23 and drawing three of 26 games.

Praze-an-Beeble managed it the year before, dropping just two points all season on their way to the Division 4 crown.

Marzion Blues avoided defeat in Division 2 in 2015/16, with New Inn Titans winning all 18 matches in Division 5 the same season, scoring 97 goals in the process.

Camborne Park went unbeaten in Division 4 in 2013/14, with Titans doing the same in Division 2 in 2012/13.

There have been numerous unbeaten seasons in local rugby over the last 20 years, although the majority appear in Cornwall 1 and 2 where only a handful of games are played.

St Agnes won all ten matches in Cornwall 2 last year, with Roseland and Redruth Albany doing the same in 2014/15 2002/03 respectively, although the latter played 14 games.

The 02/03 season was a good year for local teams, with Penryn winning all 22 games in Western Counties West, while Falmouth lost just once in Cornwall 1.

Penryn are one of only three sides to go a season unbeaten in Western Counties over the last 20 years, with Cullompton and Barnstaple repeating the trick in 08/09 and 06/07 respectively.

Camborne nearly managed it the year after the Borough but fell one game short, while Truro also had an agonising near-miss in South West 2 West in the 1999/2000 season.

Other Cornish triumphs include Liskeard-Looe, who won all 28 Cornwall League and Cornwall 1 games in 2017/18 after going unbeaten in the latter four years earlier.

Perranporth and Newquay have also enjoyed perfect seasons in Cornwall 1, doing so in 2005/06 and 2014/15 respectively.