Truro 34, Falmouth 24

Falmouth suffered a second derby defeat in three weeks, losing at Cornwall/Devon League side Truro in the Cornwall Cup quarter-finals.

The Goats ran in four tries to the Eagles' three as Truro exacted revenge for their agonising defeat to Falmouth that relegated them from Western Counties West on the final day of last season.

Falmouth started well and picked up their first points when Nick Carne went over under the posts, with Kieran Rodda adding the extras.

A converted Truro try and a further penalty saw the Goats go ahead, but Falmouth, who then had Matt Horton miss a penalty, got their noses in front when Carne repeated his earlier trick of dotting down under the posts, with Horton successful in adding the extra two.

Ashley Hosking closed the gap to a single point with his penalty for the hosts, before restoring their lead almost from the kick-off when the Goats broke from a scrum, with Ian Boon striding towards the left corner for an unconverted try.

Hosking extended the lead to seven with a penalty late on in the half, but the home side moved further in front after the break when Luke Tidball went over in the right corner for another unconverted try.

Horton brought the deficit back to nine with a penalty kick on the Truro 22, but the home side were soon celebrating their fourth try of the afternoon with Boon finishing off a move for his second of the day, although the conversion was missed again.

Truro rounded off their scoring with a 30-yard penalty to ensure an unassailable 17-point lead, but the Eagles did at least close that gap to ten with a late try from a maul, with the successful conversion completing the scoring for the afternoon.

Truro: L Tidball, J Symons, M Symons, J Martin, I Boon, A Hosking, O Davey; L Rowe, M Carlyon, O Seagrove, S Parker, D Head, D Symons, T Spiers, J Tidball. Reps: L Bowns, A M-Maxwell, L Trescothick, D Dunstan, J Powell.

Falmouth: M Horton, D Hubble, R Pugh, J Wood, N Carne, K Rodda, J Sullivan; A Searle, A Geach, D Burroughs, A Vincent, T Vincent, T Whittle, T Spiller, P Garway-Templeman. Reps: A Bullock, O Jones, S Firth.