In what proved to be head coach Ian Morgan’s final game in charge of Penryn, the Borough gave him the perfect send off with an impressive bonus point win at Honiton to continue their recent excellent form. Honiton has proved to be a happy hunting ground for Penryn over the years and so it proved again, as Penryn made it four successive league wins.

The two teams played out a thrilling trilogy of fixtures last year as they both gained promotion from the Cornwall and Devon League with the Borough going up as champions.

While Honiton were potentially out for revenge, they never really looked like getting it on the day. It was a dominant Penryn performance from minute one and after an early unconverted try from Viv Wilmott, the visitors extended their lead to 12 through a Josh Chambers try and Sam Carter conversion.

It was a one sided half both on the scoreboard and in terms of the action, which kept the Allhallows crowd subdued - a theme that would continue in the second 40. While the home side had their eyes on a comeback, Penryn had their own goal in sight and only had a further try to find for the bonus point, after Kyle Bradley added a third Penryn try to make it 0-17.

The Borough wouldn’t have long to wait to secure that bonus point and secure a win that was realistically already very much in the bag. Chambers added his second and Carter a second conversion, to make it 0-24. The home side showed a few flickers of life by finally getting on the board, but they were soon firmly on the back foot again thanks to further tries from Steele Barker and replacement James Salisbury.

At 7-34 there was an element of the foot coming off the gas from the dominant Borough, as Chambers saw yellow and the home side added a second try, but it wasn’t enough to dampen the mood in the Penryn camp after a job extremely well done. Wiveliscombe are up next at the Memorial Ground as we look for five in a row!

Penryn: Bradley, Chambers, Wilmott, Hitchens, Mabbott, Strick, Carter, Napier, Rush, Pattison, Barker, Bishop, Helier. Jones, Randlesome. Reps: Patterson, Johnson, Salisbury.