Cherilyn Mackrory has commented on her election as Conservative Member of Parliament for Truro and Falmouth.

She beat Labour's Jennifer Forbes by almost 5,000 votes following a turnout of 77 per cent in the constituency.

She said: “I am absolutely delighted to have been elected as Member of Parliament for Truro and Falmouth.”

“Life has moved quickly since my selection in November following the decision by my predecessor Sarah Newton to stand down.

“I pay tribute to her time as MP for Truro and Falmouth where she achieved a great deal for our area.

“Thank you to my campaign team, all the volunteers who have been out every day helping me get my name and positive message out there.”

“And to my family who have put up with the long hours.”

“Now the hard work begins and I look forward to getting up to Westminster next week to join Boris and our Conservative Majority Government to get Brexit Done and move on to continuing to secure funding and invest in Truro and Falmouth and Cornwall.”

Full result for Truro and Falmouth Parliamentary Constituency –

Jennifer Forbes, Lab 22,676;

Ruth Gripper, Lib Dem 7,150;

Cherilyn Mackrory, Con 27,237 (Elected);

Paul Nicholson, Liberal 413;

Tom Scott, Green 1,714