Chard 15, Falmouth 20

FALMOUTH continued their recent upsurge in form as they beat Chard to record their first away win in Tribute Western Counties West in more than a year on Saturday.

Two tries from Joe Martin and one from each of Dan Hubble and Colin Campbell earned the Eagles a bonus point as they claimed their third win in four games, and their first away from their Recreation Ground home since a 15-13 win at Bideford on January 12, 2019.

Chard were flying high in third in the division prior to kick-off and had won six of their previous eight home games this season, but found themselves in trouble early on when Luke Aplin was sent to the sin bin for collapsing a maul.

Falmouth capitalised with Joe Martin going over for an unconverted try, before history repeated itself later in the half when Emil Szydelko was sent to the bin for the hosts following a high tackle, with Martin dotting down once again to make it 10-0.

The home side hit back on the half-hour through captain Ben Thomas, who went over in the corner for an unconverted try.

But the Eagles quickly set about restoring their ten-point advantage, with Hubble going over three minutes later for another unconverted effort.

There was time for Chard to close the gap again before the break, with Falmouth being penalised for repeatedly collapsing a maul and conceding a penalty try.

Chard completed the comeback seven minutes into the second half when Paul Nicholls kicked a penalty to level the scores, before both sides were reduced to 14 men, with Dave Biss departing for the hosts and Matt Horton exiting for the Eagles.

Falmouth missed the chance to restore their lead when a penalty fell wide of the mark, but they managed to secure their long-awaited away win three minutes from time when replacement Campbell went over for an unconverted try, sealing both victory and the bonus point.

The Eagles are now eight points clear of the relegation zone.

Falmouth: O Evans, D Hubble, T Job, R Coote, E Trotman, M Horton, S Thomas; A Searle, A Geach, L Barkwill, J Martin, T Vincent, T Whittle, T Spiller, T Simmons. Reps: D Burroughs, C Campbell, K Bruce.