PENRYN youngster Charlie Levick has been called up to the Cornwall under-20 squad for their latest County Championship match on Sunday.

Cornwall play their only home fixture in the pool stage of the 2020 Jason Leonard Cup this weekend when they host Berkshire at Camborne RFC (ko 1.30pm).

Gates are open to the public at 12.30pm, with entry for adults costing £5 including a programme. Young people under the age of 16 accompanied by an adult get free entry.

Cornwall under-20 coaches Richie Kevern and Tyler Gendall have made ten changes, three positional, to the side ahead of Sunday’s pool game.

In the front row, James Lambourn comes in at loose-head with Oliver Mackenzie at hooker.

In the second row Penryn’s Steele Barker partners Mawgan Osborne, whilst Toby Osborne goes from lock to blindside flanker.

Saltash player Jack Wickham comes in at No.8.

There is a change at half-back with James Tucker starting at fly-half, with skipper Aaron Simmonds moving to the outside centre berth, St. Austell’s Ben Plummer moves to inside centre and fellow Saint Fraser Nottle coming in at 14, while Levick, comes in at full-back.

The coaches are at present unable to confirm the complete line up on the replacements bench due to re-arranged league matches taking place on the Saturday, however they have named five forwards with three backs to be added.

Coach Rich Kevern said: "The first game against Devon has to be a wakeup call for the players. We had lots of opportunities to win the game but didn’t take them and allowed a strong Devon team to get back into the match. Discipline is another area we have to improve and to ensure that we keep to our game."

Cornwall Captain Aaron Simmonds said: “The guys were disappointed with our performance against Devon. We had been prepared well by the coaches but let ourselves down in a number of areas on the field which cost us dearly and ultimately the result! This is our only home game and it would be great to get the fantastic Cornish crowd to turnout and support us at Camborne on Sunday. ”

CRFU President John Sumnall said: “We are pleased to be playing this game at Camborne RFC and thank the club and its members for hosting us. Our first game saw 13 young players representing the County at this level for the first time and although the result in a tight game went against them, I am sure they will be up to the challenge of this tough game against Berkshire. It is fantastic to see so many different clubs represented, and we thank them and our sponsors for their support to enable these fixtures to be played.”

Berkshire lost their opening game to Gloucestershire so both counties will be looking for a win to kick-start their hopes of making the knockout stages.

Cornwall‘s final pool game will be hosted by Dings RFC in Bristol on Sunday, March 15, where the opponents will be Gloucestershire.

Team manager Colin Hatch said: “The President rightly points out the number of new players that played in our last game, however it is no different for any other county in this competition. A number of these guys are playing rugby week in and week out for their clubs at all levels of the game. We have emphasised the fact that this competition is short and if we don’t perform then it is over for this season. I am sure that the players will have learnt from the first game and will want to make amends in this home game.”

Cornwall under-20s team to face Berkshire:

1 James Lambourn (Pirates Ams)

2 Mackenzie Oliver (Redruth)

3 Eliot Salt (Cardiff Met)

4 Steele Barker (Penryn)

5 Mawgan Osborne (Pirates Ams)

6 Toby Osborne (Pirates Ams)

7 Tom Spiers (Truro)

8 Jack Wickham (Saltash)

9 Ali Stacey (Redruth)

10 James Tucker (St Austell)

11 Max Bullen (St Austell)

12 Ben Plummer (St Austell)

13 Aaron Simmonds (captain) (Redruth)

14 Fraser Nottle (St Austell

15 Charlie Levick (Penryn)


16 Cameron Taylor (St Austell)

17 Mishka Fibbens (Penryn)

18 Callum Looker (Cardiff Met)

19 Caden Brownfield (Hayle)

20 Connor George (Unattached)

Backs bench and travelling reserves from:

James Murray (Redruth)

Jordan Sidwell (Redruth)

Adam Long (Camborne)

Guy Brooks (Penryn)

Oakley Smitham (Camborne)

Travelling reserves - forwards:

26 Devon Bennet-Murray (Saltash)

27 Matt Vincent (Hayle)

28 Joe Best (St Just)