Cornish Pirates’ outgoing captain Brett Beukeboom has picked up four of the club’s end-of-season awards – including the prestigious Players’ Player of the Year award.

Often considered the ultimate accolade for players to be voted for by their peers, the award went to Beukeboom, who announced his retirement in March.

Vice-captain Nicolas de Battista said: “Brett was chosen as players’ player of the year because he is a humble, hard-working leader. He has played the most amount of games this season and given 110 per cent in every appearance.

“The team and the club are Brett’s first priorities and he will be missed on and off the field.”

Callum Patterson was named the club’s Player of the Year.

Patterson, who scored 12 tries for the Pirates in 2019/20, received the award for both his tries and his strong midfield presence.

Pirates joint head coach Alan Paver said: “There is not a training session that goes by where I don’t see his shirt being ripped off his back or seeing his passion being unleashed on someone, you just see the competitiveness week in week out.

“Off the field he couldn’t be more contrasting, a nice quietly spoken guy who gets along with all supporters and staff and is thoroughly deserving of this award.”

In lieu of an actual awards evening, owing to the coronavirus restrictions, the Pirates have been announcing their 2019/20 awards via their website on a nightly basis, with Patterson’s prize the last of 13 awards to be dished out.

The first award was the Edwin Bryant Trophy, which is presented to a player, perhaps an unsung hero, who has been with the Pirates for at least three seasons, and was won by Beukeboom.

Beukeboom also picked up the second award, the John Stirling Memorial Cup for Commitment, which is awarded to someone who has displayed commitment in a considered special way.

Hooker Tom Channon collected the Community Player of the Year award for the third year running for presenting a positive role model at each event.

Sportsman of the Year went to retiring full back/wing and new team manager Matt Evans, with Paver saying Evans had the heart “the size of a basketball”.

The Dave Berryman Cup for volunteer of the year, named in honour of the former player who died in 2012, went to Tony Hands and the Pirates Youth Section.

The Most Improved Player award was given to Maliq Holden, who joint head coach Gavin Cattle described as a “highly competitive back three player who has really stepped up this year and taken his chances”.

Beukeboom won the Monckton Cup for Achievement, named in memory of father-son duo Bill and Brian Monckton, with Paver describing him as “an outstanding human being”.

Will Cargill collected Clubman of the Year for always showing a willingness to contribute when and where he can, all in a quiet non-fuss manner.

The Roger Pascoe Cup for the supporters’ player of the season went to hooker Dan Frost.

The President’s Cup for most outstanding contributor on the field in the opinion of current President Terry Drew went to volunteer and former player Scott Dugdale.

Try of the Season was Robin Wedlake’s fine demonstration of pace and power against Ampthill.