EIGHT out-of-contract members of the Cornish Pirates squad have signed new deals for the 2020/21 season and beyond.

Josh Caulfield, Tom Channon, Tom Cowan-Dickie, Dan Frost, Maliq Holden, James McRae, Alex O'Meara and Rory Parata have all signed either one- or two-year deals to remain at the Mennaye Field.

A trio of hookers are among the seven signatures, with Chanon, Cowan-Dickie and Frost all committing to another two years with the Pirates.

Back-rowers Caulfield and McRae, aged 22 and 24 respectively, have signed two-year contracts with the club, joining on a full-time basis after both were previously dual-registered players with Exeter Chiefs.

Wing O'Meara, centre Parata and wing/full-back Holden have put pen to paper on a one-year contract.

The eight players will join 24 of their team-mates who are still under contract for next season and beyond. Nineteen of them are contracted to May 31, 2021, and five are contracted to May 31, 2022.

Pirates CEO Rebecca Thomas said: “Retaining players and protecting as many jobs as possible has been key over these past few months so it is great news that so many of our existing squad are in place for next season.

“We have a very strong group of players with excellent values and playing ability which is a great position to be in going into 2020/21 off the back of these uncertain times.”

Contracted to May 2021: Jack Andrew, Matt Bolwell, AJ Cant, Will Cargill, Danny Cutmore, Rhodri Davies, Nicolas De Battista, Tom Duncan, Hayden King, Antonio Kiri Kiri, Fa’atiga Lemalu, Kyle Moyle, Sam Rodman, Alex Schwartz, John Stevens, Shae Tucker, Marlen Walker, Robin Wedlake.

Contracted to May 2022: Jean-Baptist Bruzulier, Harry Davey, Callum Patterson, Javier Rojas Alvarez, and Jay Tyack.