The constitution of the south west rugby divisions for the 2020/21 season have been confirmed.

The season is due to begin in September but may be delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic, with England Rugby set to provide guidance on when clubs may return to competition in the next couple of weeks.

The outbreak of Covid-19 in March saw an early end to the 2019/20 rugby season nationwide, with league positions being decided by a best playing record method based on a weighted points-per-game method.

Camborne and Launceston remain in the South West Premier and are joined by relegated National League 2 South duo Old Redcliffians and Bournemouth, as well as South West 1 West winners Hornets, South West 1 East winners Old Centralians and runners-up Royal Wootton Bassett.

They replace Barnstaple and Maidenhead, who have been promoted to National League 2 South, and Newbury Blues and Bracknell, who have been relegated to South West 1 East.

Falmouth and Penryn will be joined by Truro in Tribute Western Counties West next season, after the Cornish club were crowned champions of Cornwall/Devon League. Runners-up Paignton also return to Western Counties at the first time of asking. They swap places with Saltash and Cullompton, who drop into Cornwall/Devon.

Burnham-on-Sea and Newton Abbot drop into Western Counties after their promotion from Somerset Premier and relegation from South West 1 West respectively, occupying the spaces vacated by Wellington and St Austell.

Joining Saltash and Cullompton in Cornwall/Devon are Cornwall 1 champions Hayle, runners-up Newquay Hornets and Devon 1 champions Withycombe, who replace relegated duo Exeter Athletic and South Molton, as well as Lanner, who withdrew from the division during last season.

With no-one being relegated into it, Cornwall 1 has been reduced to seven teams next season. As a result Illogan Park have been spared relegation despite finishing in the bottom two last season, with Illogan, Bodmin, Camborne SoM, Lankelly-Fowey and St Agnes being joined by Cornwall 2 champions Roseland and runners-up Helston.

St Ives return to the rugby pyramid in Cornwall 2 next season. The Hakes, who withdrew from South West 1 West a few weeks into the 2019/20 season, are joined in the bottom tier by relegated St just, plus the existing quartet of Camelford, Perranporth, Redruth Albany and Stithians.

Constitution of divisions for 2020/21 season.

South West Premier: Bournemouth, Brixham, Camborne, Drybrook, Exeter University, Exmouth, Hornets, Ivybridge, Launceston, Okehampton, Old Centralians, Old Redcliffians, Royal Wootton Bassett, Weston-super-Mare.

South West 1 West: Bridgwater & Albion, Chew Valley, Crediton, Devonport Services, Keynsham, Lydney, Newent, North Petherton, Old Patesians, Sidmouth, St Austell, Stroud, Thornbury, Wellington.

Western Counties West: Bideford, Burnham on Sea, Chard, Falmouth, Honiton, Kingsbridge, Newton Abbot, Paignton, Penryn, Teignmouth, Tiverton, Truro, Wadebridge, Wiveliscombe.

Cornwall/Devon: Bude, Cullompton, Hayle, Liskeard-Looe, Newquay Hornets, North Tawton, Pirates Amateurs, Plymstock Albion Oaks, Saltash, Tavistock, Topsham, Torquay Athletic, Veor, Withycombe.

Cornwall 1: Bodmin, Camborne SoM, Helston, Illogan Park, Lankelly-Fowey, Roseland, St Agnes.

Cornwall 2: Camelford, Perranporth, Redruth Albany, St Ives, St Just, Stithians.