A four-minute double salvo saw Falmouth Town recover from a goal down to beat Mullion at Bickland Park on Tuesday night.

Rob Carey had given the Seagulls the lead against the run of play midway through the half only for Jack Bowyer to level the scores three minutes later, before TJ Walter fired home what would prove to be the winner on the half-hour mark.

Town started brightly as expected against their lower-ranked opponents with Walter shooting wide before Martyn Duff fired a superb effort against the crossbar from 25 yards, while Olly Walker came close with an excellent flicked header.

But it was the Seagulls who took the lead against the run of play in the 24th minute when former Porthleven man Rob Carey fired home from inside the box to stun the hosts.

But Town came roaring back and were leading barely six minutes later. First it was Scott Kellow and Walter's good link-up play that saw the latter pass into the box to Bowyer, who made no mistake with his finish to level the scores less than three minutes later.

Barely another three minutes had elapsed before Walter made it two, collecting Kellow's low pass in acres of space 12 yards out before sending the ball into the far corner.

A third looked likely when Luke Brabyn twisted and turned his man inside the box before taking aim, only to see his shot well saved.

Carey twice came close to levelling for the Seagulls shortly before the break, with one shot going over Ryan Barnes' bar before the other flew just wide.

The second half was a low-quality affair with the strong wind making it difficult for either side to keep the ball in play.

Bowyer was the key man for Town as he tested the visiting ‘keeper on a few occasions, and he thought he had doubled Town’s lead when he fired home but was flagged offside.

David Broglino and Joe Cooper tried speculative efforts from distance, while Mullion also managed to test Barnes a couple of times before the final whistle.

Falmouth: R Barnes, S Kellow, R Carroll, T Clark, J Cooper, R Martt, O Walker, L Brabyn, M Duff, J Bowyer, T Walter. Subs: K Davies, O Moody, J Webber, D Broglino, T Nixon.