There has been a shock result in this year's Cornwall Council elections for Falmouth.

Conservative candidate Geoffrey Evans, who has held the Falmouth Arwenack seat for the last eight years, has lost it to Labour's Laurie Magowan by 119 votes.

Mr Magowan polled 814 votes (37% of the overall total) to Mr Evans's 695 (32%).

Following behind them were Tom Scott for the Green Party with 255 votes (12%), Sean Stratton for Mebyon Kernow with 234 (11%) and Finian McCormick for the Liberal Democrats with 185 (8%).

The turnout for the division was 47%.


Elsewhere in Falmouth Jayne Kirkham has retained her seat as a Cornwall councillor for Labour in the Penwerris division, with a huge majority.

She polled 1,232 votes, 64% of the overall total, to her closed rival Jo Philpott's 377 (20%) the Conservatives.

James Miller, Green Party polled 161 (8%), John Spargo, Liberal Democrat 90 (5%), George Adamson, Independent, 34 ( 2%) and John Whitcher, Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition 17 (1%).

The turnout was 37%.

Also retaining his seat is Conservative Alan Jewell for Falmouth Boslowick. He was re-elected with 40% of the votes, polling 693.

Coming up behind was Sinead Hanks, Labour with 578 (34%), Dean Evans, Green Party, 318 (18%) and Richard Benton, Liberal Democrat, 132 (8%).

There was a turnout of 37%.

The final result for Falmouth, in the Trescobeas & Budock division, has now been added to our live blog here.

David Saunby, for the Independents, has retained his seat after fighting off close compeition from Kirstie Edwards for Labour. 

In what has no doubt caused the delay in calling the seat, following the much earlier announcements of the other town divisions, Mr Saunby won the seat by just 14 votes. 

He polled 33% of the votes, with 634, compared to Ms Edwards's 32%, with 620 votes.

Following behind were Phil Hart, Conservative, 504 (26%), Matthew Valler, Green Party, 118 (6%) and Cara Hermit, Liberal Democrat, 54 (3%).

The turnout was 41%.