The Conservatives says they looking forward are to taking full control of Cornwall County Council after returning enough councillors to form a majority.

The Conservative Group on Cornwall Council will be forming the next administration following the victory by the party at last week’s local elections.

The Conservatives returned 47 councillors, enough to form a majority administration at Cornwall Council, the first time one political group has had overall control of the council since its formation in 2009.

Conservative Group Leader Cllr Linda Taylor said:

“We’ve done it! The Conservatives in Cornwall will now control Cornwall Council for the first time.”

“We have 47 fantastic councillors that are determined to make the divisions they represent, and the whole of Cornwall, the best possible place to live, work and grow up in.

“Thank you to everyone who supported our strong and positive local campaign, and to all who voted for us.”

“We now have a clear mandate to start to deliver on our plan, the start of a new, big adventure for Cornwall, and we will be getting to work forming the new administration that will be there to serve all the people of Cornwall, at the earliest possible administration.”

Read next:

Every single one of the county councillors elected to Cornwall Council by area from A to W

County Hall has been controlled by a Lib Dem/Independent coalition for the last four years but in recent general elections the Lib Dems had seen support decline while the Conservatives and Labour bolstered their votes.

Changes to electoral boundaries and the reduction of councillors from 123 to 87 had given this election an element of the unknown with several seats seeing sitting councillors up against each other.

By the end of the count the Conservatives had secured 47 seats and 37% of the vote, securing the majority that Prime Minister Boris Johnson said he wanted to see by the time the G7 summit rolls into Cornwall next month.

The Liberal Democrats meanwhile had secured just 14 seats and 20% of the vote and saw Cabinet members Geoff Brown (Newquay Central) and Rob Rotchell (Camelford & Boscastle) lose out to Conservatives.