Car parks across Cornwall will be free to use today in support of independent businesses. 

It will be free to park in all Cornwall Council pay and display and pay on exit car parks, and to use the Truro Park and Ride, for Small Business Saturday, which this year falls on Saturday, December 4.

Small Business Saturday, a national initiative now in its ninth year, is a grassroots, non-commercial campaign, which highlights small business success and encourages consumers to 'shop local' and support small businesses in their communities.

Cornwall Council cabinet portfolio holder for transport Philip Desmonde said: "In the run up to the festive season, we’re keen to support local economies by encouraging residents to responsibly visit their local high street, shop in local small businesses, eat in cafes and restaurants and enjoy the kind of experience that you don’t get shopping online."

All Cornwall Council car parks are clearly branded, and there will be posters about the parking offer at charging points on the free parking day.

If the car park is one of the ‘pay on exit’ car parks, you should take a ticket from the entrance barrier as usual.

When leaving the car park, please insert your ticket into the machine by the exit barrier.

If you have only parked on the free parking day, the barrier will open to allow you to exit.

If you have stayed for longer than the free parking day, any additional parking fee will need to be paid for before you drive up to the exit barrier.

Cornwall Council car parks in the following areas will all be free on Small Business Saturday:

  • Bodmin area
  • Bude area
  • Callington
  • Camborne
  • Camelford
  • Falmouth
  • Fowey
  • Hayle area
  • Helston area (including mullion)
  • Launceston area
  • Liskeard area
  • Looe area
  • Newquay area
  • Padstow area
  • Penryn
  • Penzance area (including Newlyn, Mousehole, Marazion)
  • Porthleven
  • Redruth
  • Saltash
  • St Austell area (including Mevagissey and Par)
  • St Ives area (including Carbis Bay)
  • Tintagel area
  • Torpoint area (including Downderry and Seaton)
  • Truro area (including Perranporth, Porthtowan and St Agnes)
  • Wadebridge (including Port Isaac and Polzeath)