The finalists have been selected for the South West Farmer Awards 2022.

The awards celebrate our farming champions across the region, each excelling in their area of expertise with resilience, humour and enterprise.

Judges found the entries to be first class once again this year, making for some difficult decisions.

The winners are to be announced at a glittering black-tie dinner and awards ceremony at the Woodbury Park Hotel on Thursday, November 10.

Inspirational Female Farmer of the Year (sponsored by The Family Law Co)

  • Bridgette Baker of Windmill Farm, Montacute
  • Dr Karen Wonnacott of Crediton Milling
  • Di Wastenage of Wastenage Farms, Budleigh Salterton
  • Donna Lucking of Ellises Farm, Blackdown Hills   

Sheep Farmer of the Year (sponsored by Business Information Point)

  • The Amiss family of Tregullas Farm, The Lizard
  • Steve Smith of Manor Farm, Studland
  • Ricky and Lynda Rennie of Stewdon Farm, Beaworthy

Beef Farmer of the Year (sponsored by Allflex)

  • Derek White of Stonehayes Farm, Exeter
  • Eversfield Organic at Ellacott, Okehampton
  • Boscarnon Farm, Helston

Dairy Farmer of the Year (sponsored by Mole Valley Farmers)

  • Matt House of Fowlers Plot Farm, Bridgwater
  • Tom and Neil of The Open Air Dairy, Dorchester
  • Richard Dayment of Dayment Farming, Totnes

Family-Run Farm of the Year (sponsored by Shearwell Data)

  • Naomi and Klass Dekker of Veldhouse Partners, Exeter
  • The Matthews Family of New Barn Farm, Wimborne
  • The Bartlett Family of East Shilvinghampton Farm, Weymouth

Outstanding Achievement (sponsored by Cornish Mutual)

  • Di Wastenage of Wastenage Farms, Budleigh Salterton
  • Tom Hammett, Exeter
  • Dave Knight of Exmoor Hill Farming Network

Young Farmer (sponsored by Coodes)

  • Niall Tewson of Crokers Grange Farm, Torquay
  • Owen Pengelly of Down Park Farms, Bodmin
  • Bex Heywood of North Hole Farm, North Devon

The Diversification Award (sponsored by Fisher German)

  • Chris and Rachel Knowles of Trink Dairy, St Ives
  • Mark and Charlotte Rundle of Tamar Valley Dairy Co., Yelverton
  • Abi Williamson and Dave Pike of Madjeston Milk Station, Gillingham

New Entrant / Tenant Farmer of the Year (sponsored by Rowett Insurance)

  • Richard Dayment of Dayment Farming, Totnes
  • Rob Halliday of Cornish Valley Farming, Liskeard
  • Peter Davies of Higher South Buckland Farm, Weymouth

Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Cornwall College Group)

  • Dan Harding of Ilchester Estates, Dorchester
  • Mary-Grace Mason of Penn Farm, Ashburton

Sustainability Champion Award (sponsored by Strutt & Parker)

  • Eversfield Organic, Okehampton
  • Holly Purdey of Horner Farm, Minehead
  • James Vickery of The Cheddington Court Estate, Beaminster

The South West Farmer of the Year 2022 (sponsored by Keenan, an ALLTECH company) - To be announced at the awards ceremony

Congratulations to all that were nominated and our thanks goes to all those who told us about their farming champions and to our sponsors for their invaluable support.