A large number of schools across Cornwall are either opening late on Monday or closing altogether as a result of the icy conditions. 

Earlier today Cornwall Council issued a warning for today and tomorrow (Sunday and Monday) to only travel "if absolutely essential" due to "treacherous driving conditions" that saw more than 300 crashes over the weekend in the Duchy by 3pm on Sunday. 

You can read more on that here: 'Do not travel unless absolutely essential' warning after 300 crashes already

As such, the following schools have notified the council that they are either opening late or will be closed on Monday, December 12, 2022. Opening times are specified where notification has been given.

Any schools not listed below are currently due to open at their usual time. This list will be updated accordingly should any further schools be added. 

Altarnun Primary School - 9.30am

Beacon ACE Academy - 10.00am

Berrycoombe School - 10.00am

Biscovey Academy – 10.30am

Biscovey Infant and Nursery School – opening late

Bishop Cornish CE VA Primary School - CLOSED

Blisland Primary Academy - 11.00am

Bodmin College – 11.15am

Boskenwyn School - CLOSED

Brunel Primary Academy - 11.00am

Bugle School – opening late

Callington Primary School – 9.45am; the register will remain open until 10.30am

Camelford Primary School - CLOSED

Cape Cornwall School - 10.15am

Carclaze School – 10.00am

Cardinham School - 10.30am

Charlestown Primary School – 11.00am

CHES Academy (Glynn House) - 11.00am

Constantine Primary School - 10.00am

Coverack School - 11.00am

Crowan Primary School - opening late

Cubert School – 11.00am

Curnow School - 10.30am

Darite Primary Academy - 10.00am

Delabole School – opening late

Delaware Primary Academy - 10.30am

Devoran School - 10.00am

Doubletrees School – 11.00am

Duchy College (Stoke Climsland Campus) – CLOSED lessons will be delivered online. The planned parents evening will be a virtual event

Duloe Academy - 10.00am

Egloskerry Primary School - 9.30am, to be in school by 10:15am at the latest (if safety allows). Children travelling in the school taxi will be collected from 9:30am. There will be no wrap around care before school

Falmouth Area Resource Base - 10.00am

Falmouth Primary Academy - 10.00am

Fowey River Academy - CLOSED

Foxhole Learning Academy - 10.30am

Garras CP School – 10.00am

Germoe School - CLOSED

Gerrans School - 10.30am

Godolphin Primary School - 10.00am

Grade Ruan School - 10.30am

Grampound Road School - 9.30am

Grampound with Creed C of E School - 10.00am

Gunnislake Primary Academy - 10.30am

Gwinear School - 10.00am

Hayle Academy - 10.30am

Helston Community College - 10.30am

Humphry Davy School - 10.45am

Indian Queens Primary School – opening late

Kea Preschool - 11.00am

Kea School – 11.00am

Kehelland Village School - 10.30am

Kennall Vale Primary School - 10.30am

Ladock C of E School - 10.00am

Landewednack C P School - 11.00am

Landulph School - 11.00am

Launceston Primary School - 9.30am, in by 10.15am at latest (if safety allows). Collection is 3.15pm as normal, with wrap around care finishing at 4.00pm.

Lewannick Primary School – opening late

Looe Community School - CLOSED

Looe Primary Academy - 10.00am

Lostwithiel School – 10.00am NB the nursery will open at 8.00am

Luxulyan School – 10.00am

Mabe Primary School - 10.30am

Madron Daniel C of E School - 10.30am

Manaccan School - 11.00am

Marazion Primary School - 10.00am

Mawgan in Pydar Primary School – opening late

Mawnan School - 10.30am

Menheniot Primary School - 11.00am - children are requested to bring a packed lunch

Mount Charles Primary School (including the Area Resource Base) – 10.00am

Mount Hawke Academy – 10.30am

Mousehole School – 10.00am

Mullion Community Primary School - 10.00am

Mullion School - 10.40am

Nancealverne School - 10.30am

Nancledra School - 10.30am

Nansledan School - opening late

Nansloe School – 10.30am

Nine Maidens Academy - 10.30am

North Cornwall AP Academy - 10.30am

Oak Tree School - 10.30am

Otterham Primary School - CLOSED

Padstow School – opening late

Parc Eglos School - 10.00am

Pelynt Primary Academy - 10.00am

Pencalenick School - 10.30am

Pencoys School - 10.30am

Penponds Primary School - 10.00am

Penrice Academy - 10.00am

Penryn Primary Academy – opening late

Pensilva School - 10.30am

Penwith Academy - 10.30am

Perran-ar-Worthal School - 10.00am

Polperro Primary School - 10.00am

Polruan Primary Academy - 10.00am

Pondhu Primary School – 10.00am

Port Isaac School - CLOSED

Porthleven School - 10.00am

Red Moor School – opening late

Redruth School - 10.00am

Restormel AP Academy - 10.30am

Rosemellin School - 10.00am

Sandy Hill Academy – opening late

Shortlanesend School - 10.30am

Sir James Smith’s School - CLOSED

Sir Robert Geffery's School - 10.00am

Sithney CP School - 10.00am

Sky Primary and Eden Project Nursery - 10.30am

South Petherwin School - opening late

St Breock Primary School - opening late

St Catherine's C of E School - 9.30am

St Cleer Primary Academy - 10.00am

St Columb Major Academy - 10.30am

St Day and Carharrack School - 10.30am

St Dennis Primary Academy – 10.30am

St Dominic School - 11.00am

St Issey C of E School - 10.00am

St Ives Infant School - 10.00am

St Ives Junior School – 10.00am

St Ives School - 10.30am

St Keverne School - 11.00am

St Kew ACE Academy - 11.00am

St Mary's C of E School (Penzance) - 10.30am

St Mary's C of E School (Truro) - 10.00am

St Mary's RC Primary School (Bodmin) - 11.00am

St Mawes Primary School – opening late

St Mellion CE Primary School - 10.00am

St Meriadoc Infant School - 10.00am

St Meriadoc Junior School - 10.00am

St Merryn School - 10.00am

St Mewan School – 10.00am

St Michael's C of E School - 10.00am

St Minver School – opening late St Neot C P School - CLOSED St Newlyn East Learning Academy - 10.00am St Petroc's CE School - 10.30am St Stephen Churchtown Academy – opening late

St Stephens Community Academy (Launceston) - 9.30am

St Teath CP School - CLOSED

St Wenn School - CLOSED

Stithians Community Primary School - 10.30am

Stoke Climsland School - 10.30am

Summercourt Academy – opening late

The Bishop’s CofE Learning Academy – 10.30am

Tintagel Primary School – opening late

TPlus Centres - CLOSED

Treleigh School - 10.00am NB breakfast club is cancelled

Trannack School - 10.00am

Trenode Primary School - 10.00am

Treverbyn Academy – opening late

Trevisker Primary School - 10.30am

Trevithick Learning Academy - 10.00am

Trewidland Primary School - 11.00am

Troon Community Nursery and Primary School - 10.00am

Truro Learning Academy - 10.30am

Truro Nursery School - 10.00am

Upton Cross ACE Academy - 11.00am

Veryan CE School - 10.00am

Wadebridge School - CLOSED

Wadebridge Primary Academy - 10.15am

Warbstow Primary Academy – CLOSED

Whitemoor Academy – opening late

Windmill Hill Academy - 10.00am