The founder of Reform UK Richard Tice has claimed that the party’s candidate in Truro and Falmouth constituency was assaulted in a “very nasty” attack and his bag taken.

Police say a man was assaulted at around 1.15pm in Grove Place, Falmouth and are appealing for witnesses.

In a post on YouTube, Mr Tice said that Reform candidate Steve Rubidge was assaulted whilst campaigning for the party on Saturday in a “violent” attack.

"I am appalled to hear about the attack and assault on our candidate Steve Rubidge standing for Truro and Falmouth constituency. He's been assaulted and it's been reported to the police. His bag was taken from him, very nasty.”

"This is no way to have a debate and discussion. We can disagree but we don't fight each other, that's not what our democracy is about. We will make sure the police pursue a prosecution.

"This has got to stop, it's not right - it's completely unacceptable. But Steve, all credit to him, back out campaigning within half an hour, did another four hours."

Mr Rubidge has since spoken about the incident: Injured Reform candidate says 'assault' won't stop him running for election

A message to the Packet on Facebook claimed that the attack was “violent” and took place during the Sea Shanty Festival.

Steve Rubidge is a Reform UK candidate in Truro and Falmouth constituency in the UK Parliamentary general election.

On the Reform website Mr Rubidge is described a dedicated family man and passionate professional, has been a cornerstone of the Cornwall community for the past 16 years.

A spokesperson for Devon and Cornwall Police told the Packet: "Police were notified at 1.15pm on Saturday 15 June to reports that a man had been assaulted on Grove Place in Falmouth.

"Enquiries are currently ongoing to establish the circumstances surrounding the incident. 

"Anyone who witnessed the incident, or has information about the incident, is asked to contact Devon and Cornwall Police quoting 50240146510."

The other candidates for Falmouth and Truro are:

Liberal Democrat,Ruth Gripper

Labour,Jayne Kirkham

Green,Karen La Borde

Independent,Peter Lawrence

Conservative,Cherilyn Mackrory

Liberal Party,Peter White