The identity of two Cornwall councillors who got in arrears with their council tax has been revealed – although the identity of the other members is still being kept secret.

Councillor Andrew Wallis, who represents Porthleven and Helston South as an independent councillor, had court action taken against him two years ago after getting into arrears on his bill.

It is still not clear if he was the only councillor to have faced this action after the council refused to divulge this as it was “private”.

Bodmin councillor Ann Kerridge has also admitted she had received a reminder letter after missing a single payment.

Councillor Wallis approached the Packet this week to identify himself, after we revealed last week how 17 members had received reminder letters for late payments of tax in the past two years.

The story, which was based on a Freedom of Information request submitted by the paper, revealed 14 members had a second reminder sent to them, and that at least one member had court action taken against them.

Cornwall Council had declined to divulge any further information, claiming this would breach data privacy laws, a position the Packet has appealed.

In a statement released by Mr Wallis, he revealed: “Two years ago I failed to pay my council tax on time which led to court action. While I cannot change what happened, I would have paid if I could have.

“Like many people in Cornwall I was faced with the problem of juggling mounting bills with a limited income and at that time I chose to pay for essentials such as rent, electricity and food rather than pay my council tax bill.

“Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but I made that choice of not paying and I will have to live with it.”

The Packet has attempted to contact all councillors in our circulation area this week to ask them for any comments about their council tax payments.

Twelve, including Mr Wallis, Mr Rowe and Ms Kerridge, have responded.

Councillor Alec Robertson, the Helston North member who is leader of the council, confirmed he pays by direct debit and has never been in arrears.

Councillors Steve Eva, Mike Varney and Geoffrey Evans, who all represent Falmouth wards, have also confirmed they have never been in arrears.

Redruth councillor Lisa Dolley, St Day member Mike Kaczmarek, Truro councillor Doris Ansari and Mabe councillor Chris Ridgers also confirmed they have not missed a payment.

Truro councillor Bert Biscoe declined to comment on the issue, saying he had ‘nothing constructive to add to the debate’.