There are changes to the top table of Cornwall County Cricket Club following its AGM.

The club’s 121st Annual Meeting was held at Truro.

Both the President, Eric Willcock, and Chair Michael Williams (Werrington Park) retired at the meeting. Both were made Honorary Life Members of the Club for their outstanding service.

Eric Willcock made 141 championship appearances, the fourth highest, as an opening batsman in a playing career that spanned 20 years from 1967. He skippered the team from 1983. After retiring as the second-highest runscorer in county history he served the club as a committee member and a selector. He succeeded Col Ronnie Potts as Club President in 2018.

Michael Williams FRICS, DL now takes on the role of President to follow in a family tradition. His uncle, Julian Williams Esq. CBE of Carehays held the post for 40 years from 1967 until 2006.

Michael Williams has been Chair for 12 years. Cornwall won the Minor Counties Championship for the first time in his first year in 2012. Three years later the County clinched the 50-over Trophy. Last year the hat-trick was almost achieved but for a narrow four-run defeat in the National T20 Final against Staffordshire at Tring.

The new Chair is Nicholas George, from a legendary West Cornwall Sporting family. His late father, Peter, was a leading figure behind the success that saw his home village of St Buryan rise to become County Champions in the late nineties.

Peter ran the West Penwith Evening Cricket League for 50 years and was well known in football circles as President of the Referees Association and a Cornwall County FA Council Life Member. His wife, Anita was awarded the MBE in 2008 for services to the community of Penzance and 2024 sees her 25th year as the Honorary Secretary of Cornwall County Cricket Club.

Nicholas, along with brother Mark who also played for the County Club, came up through the ranks of Cornwall Schools’ cricket. Nick played his club cricket for St Buryan and St Just.

A left-hand bat and right-arm opening bowler he made his full Cornwall debut in 1995  against Wales Minor Counties at Camborne taking 4-25. Over the next 12 seasons made 31 championship and 11 one-day appearances.

He was capped in 2000. His best bowling figures were 6-39 against Shropshire at Bridgnorth in the first-ever three-day game in 2001 and overall he took 71 career wickets. His county best with the bat was 37 not out against Berkshire in 2005.

In club cricket, following county titles with St Buryan he was a leading member of the St Just side that won nine successive Vinter Cup Finals from 2004. They also reached the National Club Championship semi-finals in successive seasons in 2006 & 2007, losing to Kent side Bromley on both occasions.

In presenting the committee report Michael Williams reflected on a memorable season. In May Cornwall narrowly missed out winning the National T20 final by four runs in a game that could have gone either way. We missed out on qualifying for the 50-over Trophy Quarter Finals on net run rate.

However, the season ended with two wins in an unbeaten Championship campaign to clinch promotion to Division 1. In doing so we extended our record, to 25 successive seasons of winning a championship game. Some 33 players played during the season with 11 making county debuts.

He added: “Over the last 12 years as Chairman, I have thanked Michael Weeks for his Report on the previous cricketing season adding a few short comments. However, I make no apology for breaking with that tradition to place on record the events of the last six months which must have been the most difficult in the Club’s 121-year history.

“In early August 2023, I received an email from an ECB official saying that the ECB had been made aware of matters that had given cause for concern about standards of behaviour and culture within the Men’s County Team.

"Having ascertained that an unspecified number of anonymous complaints had been received by the ECB under their whistle-blowing policy and that the nature of the complaints alleged a ‘drinking culture’ within the team, as well as inadequate safeguarding for young players, an informal meeting took place with two ECB officials on September 18.

“Following that meeting, a summary of the proceedings was received from the ECB with some compliance suggestions to which the Club also responded. In the middle of November, I received an email from an independent consultant employed by the ECB stating that he was instructed to undertake a full investigation/review of the Club’s culture and standards.

“There followed a detailed and thorough investigation which included all players for the County team since 2020 being sent a questionnaire about the Club and every Premier League Club likewise. The Team Captain, the Team Manager, the Treasurer, and the Safeguarding Officer all made detailed submissions. I also completed a long questionnaire.

“The ECB adjudication exonerates the Club from all the charges made against it but does recommend that some finishing touches be made to compliance issues. It has been a long, arduous and stressful process but on a positive note the Club has put in place several policies which put it in a stronger position than it was and a better place to deal with an independent future.”

In the Championship, 16 players played in the four games with debuts for professionals Will MacVicar, Alex Blake and Xavier Clarke, Matt Lawrence, Dan Jenkin, Alfie MacDonald, Feteh Landa & Liam Weeks. Will MacVicar made 286 runs at an average of 47.67, including the highest score of 116.  Ellis Whiteford was the leading wicket-taker with 17 wickets at 23.00 each. Max Tryfonos had match figures of 10-104 against Wiltshire including the season best of 5-35.

 In his financial report, Treasurer Keith Hore reported a deficit of almost £15k for the year.

The Canynge Caple Cup, for the outstanding player, was won by Will MacVicar.  The Donald Cocks Cup for fielding was also won by Will MacVicar. Karl Leathley was awarded the Canynge Caple Colts Cup. The Caerhays Cup, for the highest partnership of the season, was won by Alex Blake & Karl Leathley for the 3rd wicket of 164 against Dorset. Joel Brierley won the Ron Tither Memorial Cup for Under 21 bowling. The Arthur Lugg Cup, for outstanding services, was awarded to Club Safeguarding Officer Mike Jelbert of Newquay.

Elections: President – JM Williams, FRICS, DL; Chair – NTP George; Vice-Chair – TG Sharp; Hon. Secretary - Mrs Anita George MBE, JP; Hon Treasurer – RK  Hore JP; Captain – PA Smith; Team Sec / Manager - GR Furse; Hon Assistant Secretary - MA Weeks BEM; Hon Asst Treasurer - TM Thomas; Development Manager – RJ Harrison; Safeguarding Officer -MR Jelbert. 

Cornwall CCC Fixtures 2024 - All 11am

NCCA T20 Group 5 (2 games)

Sun 28 April Devon at Werrington

Sun 5 May Dorset at Wadebridge

Mon 6 May Wiltshire at South Wilts, Salisbury

Sun 19 May Super 12's

NCCA Trophy Group 3

Sun 2 June Berkshire at St Austell

Sun 9 June Oxfordshire at Banbury

Sun 16 June Buckinghamshire at Redruth

Sun 23 June Devon at Cornwood

NCCA Championship Western Division 1

Championship cricket returns to Helston for the first time since 1994.

Sun 7-9 July Oxfordshire at Helston

Sun 14-16 July Berkshire at Wargrave

Sun 28-30 July Devon at Truro

Sun 18-20 August Cheshire at Chester Boughton Hall

Showcase Game

Sun 21 July Somerset CCC at Truro