Falmouth Town 5, Stoke Gabriel 1

Falmouth Town secured a top-three finish in the SWPL Premier for the first time in six years as they swept Stoke Gabriel aside at Bickland Park on Saturday.

Goals from Luke Brabyn, Jordan Annear (2), Matt Buchan and Marcello Jones ensured that Town not only sealed third place, but set a new club-record points tally in the SWPL era (since 2007).

Town laid down a marker with a couple of early chances, but surged ahead on 15 minutes when Brabyn slotted past goalkeeper Martyn Margarson on the edge of the box.

Buchan came close to scoring a second but ended up turning provider for it on 31 minutes, when his shot from a narrow angle was blocked but rebounded to Annear, whose effort crept over the line.

Buchan was proving to be a real handful for the visitors, and twice broke through the defence in quick succession to get a shot on goal, curling inches wide with the first before Margarson saved the second.

Stoke Gabriel were limited to very little through the game, but had a chance to reduce the deficit when Louis Roberts headed over the crossbar shortly before half-time.

Town were awarded a penalty four minutes after the break when Annear was brought down, but David Broglino’s kick was saved by Margarson.

But Broglino made amends two minutes later by playing in Annear, who coolly slotted past the goalkeeper for his 39th goal of a magnificent season.

The fourth came just three minutes later when Tim Nixon surged into the box and laid off to Annear, who spotted Buchan to his left and unselfishly played him in, who hammered it home for his first Falmouth goal.

Town made changes with next week’s League Cup final in mind, and it was one of those changes who bagged the fifth goal as Annear turned provider to tee up Jones to bundle in from close range.

The visitors managed a consolation goal four minutes from time when Austen Booth curled nicely into the bottom corner, but it couldn’t spoil the party for Town, who signed off from Bickland Park for the season in style.

Falmouth: R Barnes, D Blizzard, H Clarke, T Annear, J Cooper (c), R Martt, L Brabyn (M Jones 55), D Broglino (J Webber 58), M Buchan (O Walker 61), J Annear, T Nixon.

  • Falmouth travel to Witheridge tomorrow afternoon (2pm) before visiting Cullompton Rangers in their final league match of the season on Wednesday (7.45pm).
  • Town finish their season on Saturday when they take on Tavistock in the Walter C Parson Cup Final at Wadebridge (2.30pm).