Falmouth 154-7 beat St Gluvias 112-6 by 42 runs

Falmouth marched into the third round of the Vinter Cup on Wednesday night after a 42-run win over St Gluvias at Kernick.

Falmouth won the toss and chose to bat first, and they will have been delighted by their decision as openers Richard Kellow and Grant Stone recorded an 80-run partnership.

Kellow was eventually caught by Josh Kelly but by this point he and Stone had reached a more than healthy 90-1, with his 43 runs coming off 33 balls, including 4 fours and 1 six.

Scott Kellow (9) departed next and was the first of bowler Jonathan Udy's six victims as he recorded superb figures of 6-26.

Captain Jamie Stephens (16) was next to go before Stefan Churcher (0) and Callam Turner (4) followed as the visitors came up to 149-5, which may have been slightly disappointing after Stone and Kellow's earlier frenzy.

Stone finally exited the game with 9 fours and 2 sixes among his 67 runs off 60 balls.

Mike Hernandez was Udy's and St Gluvias' final wicket as the visitors ended on 154-7.

Any disappointment over what might have been for Falmouth was quickly put to bed as they secured the perfect start to their bowling innings, with Harry Roberts catching St Gluvias opener Richard Bannister out for a duck off just four balls.

Jake Preston (6), Kyle Winnan (16) and Sam O'Nyons (3) swiftly followed to take the score to 33-4 as the halfway point in their 20-over allocation loomed.

But it was that man Udy who stepped up to rescue his side's chances once again, this time with the bat as he recorded 47 not out off 39 balls, hitting 2 fours and 3 sixes.

However it wasn't to be as Charl Van Niekerk (13) and Callum Hinchley (9) were claimed by Liam Hoban, with Josh Kelly reaching 10 not out alongside Udy before time ran out for the hosts.

Fall of wickets (Falmouth): 90-1 Richard Kellow (Grant Stone-37*); 102-2 Scott Kellow (Grant Stone-39*); 134-3 Jamie Stephens (Grant Stone-54*); 134-4 Stefan Churcher (Grant Stone-54*); 149-5 Callam Turner (Grant Stone-59*); 154-6 Grant Stone (Liam Hoban-1*); 154-7 Mike Hernandez (Liam Hoban-1*)

Fall of wickets (St Gluvias): 0-1 Richard Bannister (Kyle Winnan-0*); 25-2 Jake Preston (Kyle Winnan-16*); 25-3 Kyle Winnan (Sam O'Nyons-0*); 33-4 Sam O'Nyons (Jonathan Udy-5*); 56-5 Charl Van Niekerk (Jonathan Udy-12*); 83-6 Callum Hinchley (Jonathan Udy-28*)