Falmouth Town will start next season's defence of their Walter C Parson Cup crown against local rivals Helston Athletic.

Helston will visit Bickland Park on Friday, October 19 in the second round of the 2018/19 competition.

Both sides received byes in the first round after finishing in the top half of last season’s South West Peninsula League Premier Division.

It is the third time the two teams have met in the early rounds of the competition in the last four years.

Falmouth came out on top when the teams met in the first round last season, winning 2-0 at Bickland Park. They also met in the second round of the 2015/16 edition of the competition.

Porthleven visit Liskeard Athletic in the first round on Saturday, September 22, while Wendron United travel to Penzance on Friday, September 21.

The winner of Wendron’s game will host either Dobwalls or St Blazey in the second round, while the winner of Porthleven’s match will host Ludgvan or St Dennis in round two.

Wendron lost 4-2 at home to Camelford in the first round last season, while Porthleven beat Sticker 1-0 before losing 4-2 at home to Bodmin Town in the second round.

View the full draw for the first and second rounds of the 2018/19 Walter C Parson Cup here.

Annear heads end-of-season awards

  • Falmouth striker Jordan Annear picked up the SWPL Premier Golden Boot award at the league's end-of-season dinner on Saturday.

Annear scored 43 goals in SWPL competitions last season, with a hat-trick in the Walter C Parson Cup final win against Tavistock nudging him two goals clear of Plymouth Parkway's Glyn Hobbs.

Manager Andrew Westgarth received the Walter C Parson Cup and £1,500 prize money.

Wendron United's Kevin Williamson received the Best Ground award for Division 1 West, with Porthleven claiming runners-up.

Wendron also won the division's Fair Play award. Falmouth were runners-up in the Premier's Fair Play standings.

Elburton Villa earn surprise promotion

Elburton Villa will return to the SWPL Premier in 2018/19 after a two-year absence.

The unexpected move was announced at the league's AGM on Monday night, after Stoke Gabriel sought relegation after failing to install lights at their ground before an FA deadline.

Villa's promotion means the Division 1 West will run with just 15 teams next season.

Stoke Gabriel will return to Division 1 East after winning promotion from the league in 2017.