Falmouth 227-7 (20pts) beat Wadebridge 217 (8pts) by 10 runs

Falmouth beat Wadebridge by ten runs at the Hine Downing Oval on Saturday to record back-to-back victories for the first time this season.

Their 20-point victory lifts them above St Austell and into sixth in the division.

Falmouth won the toss and chose to bat, but their innings began poorly with Sean Hooper caught for a duck off just two balls.

Fellow opener Grant Stone fared slightly better, but only slightly, as he notched ten runs before he was lbw off Callum Wilson.

To the pair’s relief, the upper order of Harry Roberts (36) and Scott Kellow (45) stepped in and brought the score to a much more respectable 117-4 by the time they both departed.

Stefan Churcher (40) and Richard Kellow (55) continued where their teammates left off, as they edged over the 200-mark, with Jamie Stephens (4), Liam Hoban (10 no) and Oliver Paull (7 no) taking the hosts to 227.

Falmouth Packet:

Falmouth batsman Scott Kellow (centre) in action during Saturday's win

Wadebridge’s reply began in stronger fashion, with Charlie McLachlan (10), Matthew Jolliffe (22) and James Turpin (33) taking the visitors to 116-3.

Sam Richards then added 39 while Sam Naughton pitched in with 35 to put Falmouth in a bit of trouble.

But, in timely fashion, Stephens claimed each of Wilson (ct Richard Kellow), Barny Jackson (st Jack Richards) and Ross McLachlan, with Hooper catching Charlie Ellis off the final ball to seal the narrow win.

Fall of wickets (Falmouth): 0-1 S Hooper (G Stone-0*); 18-2 G Stone (H Roberts-5*); 98-3 H Roberts (S Kellow-44*); 117-4 S Kellow (S Churcher-15*); 197-5 S Churcher (R Kellow-50*); 205-6 R Kellow (J Stephens-1*); 208-7 J Stephens (L Hoban-0*).

Fall of wickets (Wadebridge): 29-1 C McLachlan (M Jolliffe-12*); 72-2 M Jolliffe (S Richards-22*); 116-3 J Turpin (S Richards-31*); 136-4 R Pooley (S Richards-39*); 136-5 S Richards (C Wilson-0*); 189-6 S Naughton (C Wilson-12*); 199-7 C Wilson (B Jackson-5*); 205-8 B Jackson (R McLachlan-2*); 206-9 R McLachlan (C Ellis-1*); 217-10 C Ellis (R Turner-2*).

Falmouth Packet: Falmouth batsman Harry Roberts (right) with Wadebridge's wicket keeper Barney Jackson (left)