The sixth and final race of this season’s Mylor Chandlery and Rigging Series was held on Friday evening in beautiful weather

The race started in an easterly wind of some eight knots but which very quickly dropped to virtually nothing at various stages of the race. 

Four Shrimpers and the Cape Cutter 19 entered the race and Brian Phipps sailing Ysella soon established a commanding lead which he held to the shortened finish only to retire after finishing. All the other entrants retired due to the lack of wind!

Sterren Vor (Miles Pinchin) won the series with Drake (Neil Philpott) in second and Grace of St. Just (Sarah and James Fairbairn) was third.

Rococo (Clive Hoyle) took the honours in Q class ahead of Topsy (Tony O’Hanlon), who had led earlier on. Rococo won the series with Osprey (Martin Wilson) second and Challonaise (Stephen Pendray) third.

Two of the heavier boats in E Class did well in the conditions. Lightning (Peter Dallow), a Sigma 33C came first ahead of Adelie (Chris Horn), with Jakaroo (Mylor Sailability) third.

The series winner of E Class was The Cool Kids (Tim Rowley), with Lightning second and Jakaroo third.

In W Class Wizard of Clee (Tony Hardman) came second behind Lez Beez Nez (Alan Street), but when the handicaps were applied Wizard won the race with Mary Boon (John Cruise) third. Mary Boon won the series, with Wizard of Clee second and Lez Beez Nez third.

The Club wishes to thank Mylor Chandlery and Rigging for the support and sponsorship of this race series.