Mylor Yacht Club‘s Summer Marine Team Cups Race sponsored by Mylor Yacht Harbour was very well supported by the Racing Members of the Club.

The wind stayed good well into the evening. In Q class it was Challonaise (Stephen Pendray) race from the start taking the tack towards the Mylor shore first against the others who went to the St Just shore. She rounded the windward mark first with a lead that could not be challenged.

Rococo (Clive Hoyle) rounded in last place but clawed back to second place ahead of Topsy (Tony O'Hanlon) who finished third. Challonaise took the cup.

The Peter Keeling Memorial Trophy for Cornish Shrimpers was also part of the Marine Team Cups Race.

The race took place on the penultimate day of the Shrimper Owners Association and Cornish Crabbers Club Annual Falmouth Rally in which some 27 boats entered for the week's very enjoyable sailing activities held in such brilliant weather and which, no doubt, will last long in the memory being on a par with the summer of 1976.

Thirteen Shrimpers, including one non-registered boat, took part in the race; High water springs occurred minutes before the start and the ebb gathered strength and influence as the race progressed particularly on the beat up to JB, the weather mark.

Ysella (Brian Phipps) won the race after a close match with Sterren Vor (Miles Pinchin) in second place. Tarragon, a visiting boat, (Mike and Petra Lyons) was third.

Peter Keeling was a founder director of Cornish Crabbers Ltd and a series of half models of ‘Butterfly’ his Cornish Shrimper were commissioned after his death in 1994 and this one is awarded by the Sailing Secretary of Mylor Yacht Club each year.

Young Wilf Pinchin did the honours and presented the trophy to Brian Phipps on Yesella at the prize giving. Wilf also received an award for winning the Guest Helm Trophy the previous week.

It was good to see Jebedee, skippered by David Cox and crewed by Christoper Whiteley, the owner and a long time stalwart of the class, out on the water and racing for the first time this year and who took fourth place.

In E Class Cool Kids (Tim Rowley) came in first with Lightning (Peter Dallow) second and Adelie (Chris and Jane Horn) third.

Wizard of Clee (Tony Hardman) who races white sail in W class (without using a spinnaker) finished 18 seconds ahead of Lez Beez Nez (Alan Street) with Mary Boon (John Cruise) third.