Falmouth Town 2, Brixham 1

JACK Bowyer's second-half header ensured a come-from-behind victory for Falmouth Town in their Walter C Parson League Cup third round tie at home to Brixham on Saturday.

The Devon club went ahead on ten minutes when Carl Bradley thundered a shot past stand-in 'keeper Adam Rowbathan, but the defending champions were level on 20 minutes thanks to a super strike from Tim Nixon.

The score remained the same until the 69th minute when Bowyer popped up to head his side into the quarter-finals.

Town started well with Nixon and David Blizzard both firing over the crossbar, but found themselves a goal down when Bradley glided past one defender before hammering a shot into the net from just inside the box.

The hosts struggled to play their usual passing game in the very wet conditions, but it almost clicked for Bowyer a few minutes later when he found himself in on goal with only Brixham 'keeper Ryan Walton to beat, but the visiting goalie was out well to deny the Falmouth frontman.

But the home side were not to be denied for too long as Nixon drew his side level a couple of minutes later when his 25-yard effort hit flew into the top corner.

The remainder of the half see-sawed between the two sides, with only Brixham midfielder Liam McAuley's goalbound volley being blocked by his own man catching the eye in terms of clear-cut scoring chances.

The pendulum continued to swing after the break with Falmouth's Luke Brabyn and Brixham' Scott Robinson coming close to grabbing a goal.

In the end it was Bowyer who was the one to land the decisive blow when he got in front of his man to head home Brabyn's cross at the near post with around 20 minutes to go.

Good game management saw the home side through, apart from one slightly dicey moment when Rowbathan's clearance struck Robbie Bowker and looped over the crossbar, but it is Town who progress to next year's quarter-finals.

Falmouth: A Rowbathan, D Blizzard, O Moody (A Westgarth 61), R Martt (J Penhallurick 81), J Cooper, J Ward, L Brabyn, J Webber, J Bowyer, S Pickup (T Annear HT), T Nixon. Subs (unused): J Miller.

Brixham: R Walton, J Spence, M Brooke, S Green, R O'Callaghan, G Dandridge, R Somers, L McAuley, R Bowker, C Bradley, S Robinson. Subs: J Turak, R Willcocks, T Couch, P Pickavant.