There is a new look to the Cornish Cricket League season which begins on Saturday. The ten Premier League clubs will compete in the new ‘Tribute T20 Kernow Crash’ competition over the first four Saturdays.

In commenting on the new set up League Chairman Andrew Kent said: “As a League, we are delighted to welcome St Austell Brewery as competition sponsors. It continues their valued support of Cornish Cricket over recent seasons. The League are pleased to be able to deliver an additional T20 competition as per the wishes of clubs, following the return to a ten team Premier division in 2019. With the lower divisions not starting until May, it also gives the opportunity for a wider audience to attend the opening rounds. Finals Day should be a special event and will also be promoting the ECB’s All-Stars Cricket and new ‘Inspiring Generations’ strategy.”

On behalf of St Austell Brewery Trade Marketing Manager, Marc Bishop said: “We are thrilled to sponsors of this exciting new competition in Cornwall. Tribute is synonymous with team sports, in particular, rugby and cricket so this fits perfectly with our brand ambitions. We look forward to some excellent cricket culminating in a finals day on Sunday, May 19, at Grampound Road Cricket Club ”.

The competition sees clubs having two home and two away fixtures in the group stages. They have been split broadly into two geographical pools but to avoid byes there will be a ‘cross pool’ fixture on each match day. Clubs will play the same opponent in two separate T20 matches. The first commences at 1pm and, following an interval, the second default start time is 4.10pm. However, this can be delayed by up to 30 minutes due to weather interruptions in the first game but must be completed by 7.30pm. During the pool stage of the competition, two points will be awarded for a win, one point for a tie or no result and no points for a loss. The two pool winners and runners-up will progress to the Finals Day with semi-finals, at 10.30am and 1.30pm and the final at 4.30pm.

The opening round of fixtures on Saturday sees Falmouth, under new skipper Olly Paull, entertain Redruth. James Williamson is a new recruit from Rosudgeon. In Saturday’s pre-season friendly at Roche Williamson and wicketkeeper-batsman, Aidan Carter both hit unbeaten half-centuries in a 52 run victory. Sean Hooper has moved to Grampound Road and Liam Hoban to Beacon. Harry Roberts has replaced David Painter as the Club Chairman. A busy season lies ahead at the Hine Downing Oval with Pendennis Shipyard joining the Mining Division Evening League. Falmouth, Camborne School of Mines and Seaview Old Boys also share the venue for evening games.

Elsewhere in the ‘Crash’ on Saturday St Just take on Truro. In the cross pool game, Penzance hosts Wadebridge. In the east pool, derbies see Grampound Road at home to St Austell and Werrington entertaining Callington.

Fixtures in County Division 1 and Divisions 2 & 3 of the Bond Timber Cornwall Cricket League also commence on Saturday. Divisions 4, 5 & 6 begin two weeks later on Saturday 4 May. In County Division 1 Helston and Troon commence their hundredth season of League cricket. Helston won County Division 1 last year and are again skippered by Steve Jenkin. They start at home against Lanhydrock. Rosudgeon have been boosted by the arrival of all-rounder Giles Lawrence from Truro, who originally played for neighbours Goldsithney. Promoted Ludgvan visit the Playing Field on Saturday.

Mullion begin life in division two with a trip to Gulval. They have gained three players from Porthleven - Martin Duck, Dylan Mitchell and Matthew Walker. Dan Johnson continues in charge. There’s a local derby at Stithians where St Gluvias are the visitors. It’s been a quiet winter for the Saints on the transfer front who are again skippered by Jon Udy. At Stithians, the departures of Ryan Mitchell and Scott Harris to neighbours Wendron, Adam Lockwood (St Erme) and Chris Instance (Mount Ambrose) have been offset by the arrivals of Tom Sobey from Redruth and Mike Bowerly from Wendron.

There is plenty of local interest in division three this year. Newly promoted Constantine host Perranarworthal, who have seen Jamie Caruana move to St Erme and Caiden Howell to Falmouth. Wendron start with a derby at Underlane against Helston seconds. Falmouth seconds were relegated last year and they commence with a trip to St Newlyn East.