Falmouth Town, Helston Athletic, Porthleven and Wendron United will all compete in the new South West Peninsula League Premier West division next season.

Porthleven and Wendron have been promoted to the new division as part of a large restructure of football in Cornwall, with the existing 19-team SWPL Premier, which covered clubs in both Cornwall and Devon and included both Falmouth and Helston, being expanded to accommodate two East and West divisions of 20 teams.

The restructure comes after discussions between the Devon County Football Association, Cornwall County Football Association, South West Peninsula League, Devon & Exeter League and the Football Association as to what would be the best structure to support and develop senior football in the South West.

The winning team from each of the new divisions will be promoted to the Western Football League Premier Division, unless they can provide a sufficient reason for not taking promotion should they choose not to do so.

All 19 teams in the existing SWPL Premier have a place in either of the new divisions, which will remain at Step 6 of the National League System. Nineteen of the remaining 21 spots are filled by clubs from either the 2018/19 SWPL Division 1 East or Division 1 West (Step 7), with Dartmouth and Torrington (Step 8) filling the final two spots.

Falmouth and Helston, who finished sixth and 11th respectively in this season’s SWPL Premier, have booked their places in the new Premier West alongside nine of the other 11 Cornish clubs that competed in this season’s premier division.

The two exceptions are Millbrook and Torpoint Athletic, who, due to geographical reasons, move over to the new Premier East.

Porthleven and Wendron, who finished third and sixth respectively in this season’s SWPL Division 1 West, are promoted to the Premier West alongside seven other Division 1 West clubs.

The 40 teams across the two new divisions will contest the Walter C Parson League Cup, which is held by Saltash United after they beat Falmouth Town in the 2018/19 final last week.

The full list of competing clubs in the 2019/20 SWPL Premier West is as follows: AFC St Austell, Bodmin Town, Callington Town, Camelford, Dobwalls*, Falmouth Town, Godolphin Atlantic, Helston Athletic, Launceston, Liskeard Athletic*, Mousehole*, Newquay, Penzance*, Porthleven*, Saltash United, St Blazey*, St Dennis*, Sticker, Wadebridge Town*, Wendron United*.

* Indicates the team has been promoted