Beaten Walter C Parson League Cup finalists Falmouth Town will begin their attempts to reclaim the title they won in 2018 with a trip to Godolphin Atlantic (Newquay) in the second round of next season’s competition.

Town won the tournament in 2018 and they took their title defence all the way to the final of this year’s edition, where they lost 1-0 to Saltash United.

Falmouth beat Godolphin 4-2 after extra-time in a thrilling semi-final at Sticker’s Burngullow Park on their way to lifting the trophy 13 months ago.

Helston Athletic also have a bye to the second round, where they will host 2016 champions Bodmin Town.

The Blues were beaten 3-2 at Falmouth Town at the same stage of last year’s competition, letting a two-goal lead slip in the process.

Wendron United will be after revenge when they make the trip to Dobwalls’ Lantoom Park in the first round in September.

The Dron played host to the east Cornwall side in the second round of last year’s event, but Ryan Howe’s second-half penalty was enough to dump Wendron out.

Porthleven make the short trip to Penzance’s Penlee Park in their first-round tie.

It means that one side is guaranteed to better last season’s efforts after both suffered early exits last year. Penzance lost 3-2 at home to Wendron while Port were beaten 3-0 at Liskeard Athletic.

The winners of Wendron’s tie will make the trip to either Crediton United or Newton Abbot Spurs in the second round, while the winners of the Penzance-Porthleven tie will visit either Wadebridge Town or Mousehole.

In a change to the format of the competition, only the first round is regionalised (East and West) this year, with the second round onwards being an open draw.

Previously the first two rounds were regionalised, but this has been scrapped in light of the impending restructure of the South West Peninsula League to two east and west divisions, in order to allow clubs to still play sides from the other division.

The winner of next season’s competition will receive £1,750, an increase of £250 on what reigning champions Saltash received this year.


Draw in full:

First round:


Crediton United v Newton Abbot Spurs

Holsworthy v Torrington

Plymouth Marjon v Holsworthy

Sidmouth Town v Dartmouth


Dobwalls v Wendron United

Penzance v Porthleven

St Blazey v St Dennis

Wadebridge Town v Mousehole


Second round:

St Austell v Bovey Tracey

Elburton Villa v Newquay

Elmore v Camelford

Millbrook v Liskeard Athletic

Callington Town v Cullompton Rangers

Godolphin Atlantic (Newquay) v Falmouth Town

Sticker v Brixham

Helston Athletic v Bodmin Town

Ivybridge Town v Sidmouth Town/Dartmouth

Wadebridge Town/Mousehole v Penzance/Porthleven

Launceston v Holsworthy/Torrington

Stoke Gabriel v Torridgeside

Saltash United v Torpoint Athletic

Axminster Town v St Blazey/St Dennis

Plymouth Marjon/Honiton Town v Ilfracombe Town

Crediton United/Newton Abbot Spurs v Dobwalls/Wendron United