Falmouth finally picked up their first win of the Cornwall Premier League season on Saturday after a four-wicket win at Grampound Road.

After bowling their hosts out for 248 in the 49th over, Falmouth surpassed that total with 14 balls to spare to seal their first league victory of 2019.

The visitors began their batting innings well, with opener David Hoskings racking up 90 runs before he was run out by Richard Kellow.

Kellow had already claimed the first wicket of fellow opener David Lean (8), with Louis Rudin claiming the third of Chris Roberts (20) when he was caught by Aidan Carter.

Ravindra Karunarathna added 36 before he was lbw off Sajjad Jabarkhel, who then took Chris Davey for 18 runs.

Rudin then took Charlie Hoskings (16) before the rest of the lower order fell cheaply alongside Thomas Orpe, whose innings ended at 40 when he was dismissed by Kellow as Grampound set their hosts 249 to win.

Falmouth lost Carter (4) early in their reply, but his replacement Harry Roberts enjoyed a superb 117-run stand alongside Grant Stone before the former was dismissed for 63 after being lbw off Harry Matthews’ ball.

Stone batted on and saw Scott Kellow (7) depart before his own innings came to an end at 129 off 128 balls, again at the hands of Matthews.

Stefan Churcher came in and lasted just one ball before he was run out, with Oliver Paull (6) the only other wicket as Falmouth reached the winning line in the 48th over.

Fall (Grampound Road): 88-1 Alex Lean (David Hoskings-79*); 113-2 David Hoskings (Chris Roberts-12*); 122-3 Chris Roberts (Ravindra Karunarathna-0*); 166-4 Ravindra Karunarathna (Thomas Orpe-5*); 194-5 Chris Davey(Thomas Orpe-12*); 223-6 Charlie Hoskings (Thomas Orpe-22*); 234-7 Harry Matthews (Thomas Orpe-29*); 234-8 Lewis Sanders (Thomas Orpe-29*); 239-9 Chris Willett (Unsure-1*); 248-10 Thomas Orpe (David Neville-2*)

Fall (Falmouth): 17-1 Aidan Carter (Grant Stone-12*); 187-2 Harry Roberts (Grant Stone-109*); 201-3 Scott Kellow (Grant Stone-116*); 219-4 Grant Stone (Stefan Churcher-0*); 224-5 Stefan Churcher (Richard Kellow-4*); 241-6 Oliver Paull (Richard Kellow-15*);