Falmouth Town began their pre-season schedule with a 3-0 win at home to Peterborough United under-18s.

Luke Brabyn put the hosts in front at the break, before returning winger Olly Walker and midfielder Tim Nixon completed the scoring in the second half.

Peterborough, managed by former Tottenham, West Ham and Stoke midfielder and ex-Falmouth youth-team player Matty Etherington, looked lively early on and a wicked cross forced Ryan Martt into a vital six-yard clearance.

Falmouth hit back through good chances for Brabyn and Walker, who both spurned opportunities from six yards in quick succession.

But the hosts were in front midway through the half when Brabyn raced past the defence to meet David Broglino's long ball and slotted it past the goalkeeper.

The game petered out somewhat for the rest of the half, but Nixon, introduced as a sub at the start of the second half, forced the visiting 'keeper into a superb flying stop just seconds after the restart.

Town were enjoying more of the possession in the early throes of the second half and Walker took full advantage, pouncing on a short free-kick in the Peterborough third and slotting in from a tight angle for his first goal since rejoining the club this week.

Falmouth were not home and dry just yet, though, with a last-ditch clearance and top stop from Ryan Barnes keeping the score at 2-0.

But they were still a threat at the other end and nearly made it three when Luke Johnson beat his man on the left and took aim from a similar angle to Walker, but saw his effort saved by the goalkeeper.

The third did arrive nine minutes from time when player-manager Andrew Westgarth teed up Nixon on the edge of the box, with the midfielder curling the ball beautifully into the top corner.

The visitors had the ball in the net late on but saw the goal chalked off for offside, given by Falmouth coach and stand-in linesman Charlie Davis.

Falmouth: R Barnes, D Blizzard, J Cooper, R Talbot, O Moody, R Martt, M Duff, D Broglino, O Walker, L Barner, L Brabyn. Subs: J Webber, T Nixon, B Oliver, L Johnson, R Hall, A Westgarth.