Falmouth gained ground on nearest relegation rivals Callington despite falling to a tenth defeat of the season at home to Truro.

The hosts were bowled out for 176 as they chased Truro’s total of 221.

But their nine bowling and batting points sees them close the gap by four to 13 on Callington, who picked up five points from their 67-run loss at home to Werrington.

The home side won the toss and put Truro in to bat, with opening pair Charlie Kent (38) and Andrew Libby (39) providing the visitors’ top scores.

Truro had reached the ton by the time both had departed, having been claimed by Grant Stone and Rohit Venkateshan respectively.

The latter also took Timothy Wyatt (15) before James Williamson took a hat-trick of Truro batsmen, with Kelvin Snell (25), Joseph Phillips (14) and Kyle Van Rooyen (37) falling victim to the bowler.

Robert Harrison added 26 as Truro were dismissed for 221 in the final over.

Much like the visitors, it was the opening pair of Stone (36) and Scott Kellow (39) who provided Falmouth’s biggest hauls, with the pair, again like their opponents, both posting scores in the thirties.

The reminder of the upper order could not replicate that, however, with Venkateshan (8), Richard Kellow (16) and Stefan Churcher (17) departing as Falmouth reached 156-5.

Oliver Paull contributed 26 to that score and added seven more before he was dismissed with the score now reading 167-6.

The hosts still had an outside shot but the final four wickets fell for just nine more runs, with Falmouth bowled out for 176 in the 47th over.

Fall (Truro): 71-1 Charlie Kent (Andrew Libby-20*); 104-2 Andrew Libby (Timothy Wyatt-10*); 127-3 Timothy Wyatt (Kelvin Snell-18*); 137-4 Kelvin Snell (Joseph Phillips-2*); 167-5 Joseph Phillips (Kyle Van Rooyen-14*); 195-6 Kyle Van Rooyen (Robert Harrison-6*); 207-7 Cameron Bishop (Robert Harrison-15*); 219-8 Robert Harrison (Neil Ivamy-1*); 220-9 Neil Ivamy (Joel Brierley-0*); 221-10 Andrew Senior (Joel Brierley-1*).

Fall (Falmouth): 67-1 Scott Kellow (Grant Stone-21*); 84-2 Rohit Venkateshan (Grant Stone-30*); 105-3 Richard Kellow (Grant Stone-34*); 110-4 Grant Stone (Stefan Churcher-2*); 156-5 Stefan Churcher (Oliver Paull-26*); 167-6 Louis Rudin (Oliver Paull-32*); 171-7 James Williamson (Oliver Paull-33*); 173-8 Oliver Paull (Joe Harrington-0*); 175-9 Sajjad Jabarkhel (Joe Harrington-1*); 176-10 Aidan Carter (Joe Harrington-2*).